Alison Moyet / Alf reissue due in Nov


Alison Moyet‘s 1984 album Alf will be reissue as a two-CD deluxe edition in November along with her three other Sony albums.

All the reissues are being put out by BMG, rather than Sony (for some reason) and the double-disc edition of Moyet’s debut includes the album remastered from the original tapes and comes with a bonus disc featuring remixes and B-sides.

Since this album has never been reissued and there has never been any kind of Alison Moyet rarities anthology, more or less everything on this bonus disc is new to CD. Content includes both 12-inch remixes of Love Resurrection, both 12-inch mixes of Invisible and the ‘new version’ of For You Only (in seven-inch and Extended versions). That last song was only issued as a single in the US and a few territories in Europe. It eventually surfaced in the UK on the B-side to Is This Love? retitled ‘Europa Mix’. The Europa Mix was identical the Extended New Version, so the shorter single-length ‘New Version’ is unreleased in the UK until now.

Like the two other singles, the biggest hit from the album, All Cried Out (#8 on the UK charts in Autumn 1984) was issued in two 12-inch variants. ‘The Remix’ (second 12-inch issued – QTA4757) features on the bonus disc, but the standard ‘Extended Version’ (TA 4757) doesn’t, because the album version of Alf has historically always used this extended version of the song (running time is 6.50). This brings us to the major omission from this deluxe edition and that is the seven-inch version of All Cried Out. It really, REALLY should have been included, since it’s what most people would have bought back in the day and it was what was played (a lot) on the radio. You get both remixes, but not the actual standard version of the song.

B-sides Hitch Hike (with Darts) and Baby I Do are present and correct as are the single and ‘Jazz Version’ of non-album 45 That Ole Devil Called Love. The B-side to that single also features in standard and extended versions.

The two live tracks were recorded at the Dominion Theatre (for Radio One in Concert) and featured on a special 7-inch double-pack of That Old Devil Called Love.

We’ve waited so long for this, it’s great news that it is finally coming out, however, nothing beyond the officially released discography has been explored. If Wet Wet Wet‘s Picture This can be issued as a 4-disc super deluxe edition box set then perhaps Alison Moyet’s team may have underplayed their hand with this key long-player from the early-to-mid eighties. You get the feeling Moyet’s fans – and pop fans in general – like this record more than she does, which may well have influenced the decision to not over-indulge when it came to the reissue.

Raindancing (1987), Hoodoo (1991) and Essex (1994) are all being issued at the same time, in the same two-disc format. These will be ‘casebound book’ type presentations.

Despite being officially announced, these aren’t going to be available to pre-order for another week or so, but the track listings are below.

All four Sony albums are released as two-CD deluxe editions on 25 November 2016.



Alf 2CD deluxe edition

Disc One – original album

  1. Love Resurrection
  2. Honey For The Bees
  3. For You Only
  4. Invisible
  5. Steal Me Blind
  6. All Cried Out
  7. Money Mile
  8. Twisting The Knife
  9. Where Hides Sleep

Disc Two – bonus tracks

  1. Love Resurrection (U.S Long Version)
  2. All Cried Out (The Remix)
  3. Invisible (Extended Version)
  4. For You Only (Extended New Version)
  5. Love Resurrection (Love Injected Remix)
  6. Baby I Do
  7. Invisible (Transparent Mix)
  8. Hitch Hike
  9. For You Only (New Version)
  10. That Ole Devil Called Love
  11. Don’t Burn Down The Bridge
  12. That Ole Devil Called Love (Jazz Version)
  13. Don’t Burn Down The Bridge (Extended Version)
  14. Twisting The Knife (Live)
  15. That Ole Devil Called Love (Live)


Raindancing 2CD deluxe edition

Disc One – original album

  1. Weak In The Presence Of Beauty
  2. Ordinary Girl
  3. You Got Me Wrong
  4. Without You
  5. Sleep Like Breathing
  6. Is This Love?
  7. Blow Wind Blow
  8. Glorious Love
  9. When I Say (No Giveaway)
  10. Stay

Disc Two – bonus tracks

  1. Is This Love? (L.A. Mix) (Produced by Dave Stewart)
  2. Blow Wind Blow (Long Version) 
  3. Weak In The Presence of Beauty (Extended Mix) F
  4. To Work On You 
  5. Take My Imagination To Bed 
  6. Ordinary Girl (Remix) 
  7. Palm Of Your Hand (Cloak & Dagger) 
  8. Ordinary Girl (Dance Mix) 
  9. Love Letters
  10. This House (Original Mix)
  11. Love Letters (Extended Version)
  12. The Coventry Carol (From Olympics benefit album ‘A Very Special Christmas’, 1987)
  13. Love Resurrection (Live At Wembley Arena, 13th May 1987) 
  14. Ne Me Quitte Pas (Live At Wembley Arena, 13th May 1987) 
  15. You And Me Previously unreleased demo.
  16. Let’s Get Personal (with James Brown)


Hoodoo 2CD deluxe edition

Disc One – original album

  1. Footsteps
  2. It Won’t Be Long
  3. This House
  4. Rise
  5. Wishing You Were Here
  6. Hoodoo
  7. (Meeting With My) Main Man
  8. Back Where I Belong
  9. My Right A.R.M.
  10. Never Too Late
  11. Find Me

Disc Two – bonus tracks

  1. Take Of Me
  2. Back Where I Belong (Polite Mix)
  3. Back Where I Belong” (Soft Mix)
  4. Come Back Home
  5. Hoodoo (Extended Version) (remix by Francois Kevorkian)
  6. Hoodoo (Starlight Dub) 
  7. Hoodoo (Single Version) (remix by Francois Kevorkian)
  8. Hoodoo (Instrumental) 
  9. It Won’t Be Long (Live At The Town & Country Club, London, 17th July, 1991) Previously unreleased.
  10. Wishing You Were Here (Live At The Town & Country Club, London, 17th July, 1991) Previously unreleased.
  11. Never Too Late (Live At The Town & Country Club, London, 17th July, 1991) Previously unreleased.
  12. Find Me (Live At The Town & Country Club, London, 17th July, 1991) Previously unreleased.
  13. (Meeting With My) Main Man (Live At The Town & Country Club, London, 17th July, 1991) Previously unreleased.
  14. Dig A Hole Previously unreleased demo.


Essex 2CD deluxe edition

Disc One – original album & bonus tracks

  1. Falling
  2. And I Know
  3. Whispering Your Name
  4. Getting Into Something
  5. So Am I
  6. Satellite
  7. Ode To Boy
  8. Dorothy
  9. Another Living Day
  10. Boys Own
  11. Take Of Me
  12. Ode To Boy II
  13. Whispering Your Name (Single Mix)
  14. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Single Mix)
  15. Blue (Original Version)
  16. Solid Wood (Single Mix)
  17. Our Colander Eyes (Single Mix) Rare – withdrawn single.
  18. My Best Day (featuring Lightning Seeds)
  19. Make A Change (featuring Tricky)

Disc Two – bonus tracks

  1. Falling (Infinite Dub)
  2. It Won’t Be Long (Acoustic)
  3. Whispering Your Name (Extended Remix)
  4. Whispering Your Name (Remix) (remix by Vince Clarke)
  5. Getting Into Something (Midnight Mix) 
  6. Dorothy (Acoustic)
  7. Ne Me Quitte Pas (Acoustic)
  8. Never Too Late (Remix)
  9. Never Too Late (Extended Remix)
  10. Life In A Hole
  11. Rock And Roll (Live At The Mean Fiddler, London, 3rd April, 1992)
  12. Sunderland Glynn
  13. Beautiful Previously unreleased.
  14. How Long (Alternate Version) Previously unreleased.
  15. Blue (The Essential Mix)
  16. Our Colander Eyes (Pete Glenister Demo) Previously unreleased.
  17. Blue (Playing The Field Edit) Previously unreleased.
  18. There Are Worse Things I Could Do

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments