Arther Baker presents Dance Masters: John Luongo

The third in the ongoing collection of legendary remixers  

Arther Baker’s Dance Masters series continues in November, as the spotlight turns to another remix legend, one of the originators of the form, John Luongo. 

Hailing from Boston, John ‘TC’ Luongo is widely seen as one of the most influential DJs and mixers of the Disco era. For over a decade, until he stepped away from mixing, almost everything he touched was a hit, including classics such as Jackie Moore’s ‘This Time Baby’, ‘Vertigo / Relight My Fire’ by Dan Hartman and Patti Labelle’s ‘Music Is My Way Of Life’. He also worked on music outside the disco genre, which is why these new sets include artists such as ZZ Top, Billy Idol, Tina Turner, Cabaret Voltaire, ABC, Wang Chung, Soft Cell, Level 42 and many more.

The 4CD set with Arthur Baker signed print (click image to enlarge)

Arthur Baker presents Dance Masters: John Luongo – The Classic Remixes (to give it its full title) is available as 43-track 4CD set – with a limited quantity available with a signed print – a 36-track 6LP vinyl set (which all come with a signed print) and a cut-down 2LP, 16-track ‘essentials’ vinyl edition. These sets have been compiled by Wayne A. Dickson in conjunction with series curator Arthur Baker (full tracklistings for all formats, below).

The 4CD media book edition includes a 32-page booklet featuring a foreword by Arthur Baker, an in-depth essay written by Alexis Petridis, a track-by-track from John himself and rare photos from Luongo’s personal Collection.  

Arthur Baker presents Dance Masters: John Luongo – The Classic Remixes will be released by Demon Music on 17 November 2023.

6LP vinyl edition of Dance Masters: John Luongo (click image to enlarge)

Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

Dance Masters John Luongo - 4CD set with signed print


Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

Dance Masters John Luongo - signed 6LP vinyl box



Dance Masters: John Luongo Various Artists / 4CD set

    • CD 1
      1. Tina Turner – The Best (Extended Mighty Mix)
      2. John Waite – Missing You (Extended Mix)
      3. Billy Idol – Eyes Without A Face (Full-Length Version)
      4. Rick Springfield – Human Touch (Extended Mix)
      5. Huey Lewis And The News – I Want A New Drug (Extended Version)
      6. Greg Kihn Band – Jeopardy (Dance Mix)
      7. Daryl Hall & John Oates – Downtown Life (Downtown Remix)
      8. ZZ Top – Viva Las Vegas (Remix)
      9. The Escape Club – Wild, Wild West (Dance Mix)
      10. Fine Young Cannibals – Suspicious Minds (Suspicious Mix)
      11. Cher – Skin Deep (Extended Dance Mix) 
    • CD 2
      1. Visage – Fade To Grey (U.S 12” Mix)
      2. ABC – The Look Of Love (Part 3: Dance Mix)
      3. Cabaret Voltaire – Crackdown (12” Version)
      4. Blancmange – Blind Vision (Extended Version)
      5. Wang Chung – Don’t Let Go (Extended Remix)
      6. Dragon – Rain (US Dance Mix)
      7. Peter Schilling – Major Tom (Coming Home) (Special Extended Version)
      8. Camouflage – The Great Commandment (US 12″ Mix)
      9. Soft Cell – Insecure… Me? (U.S. Version)
      10. Bill Nelson – Acceleration (Long Version)
      11. Shakin’ Stevens – Cry Just A Little Bit (Luongo’s Mix) 
    • CD 3
      1. Bananarama– Shy Boy (Don’t It Make You Feel Good) (U.S Extended Version)
      2. K.C. & The Sunshine Band – Give It Up (12” Version)
      3. Falco – Junge Roemer (Young Romans) (Specially Remixed 12” Version)
      4. Baltimora– Tarzan Boy (Extended Dance Version)
      5. Material – I’m The One (Dance Version Remix)
      6. Gladys Knight And The Pips – Save The Overtime (For Me) (12” Mix)
      7. Level 42 – The Chinese Way (New York Remix)
      8. I Level – Give Me (U.S Remix)
      9. Serge Ponsar– Out In The Night (12” Version)
      10. Fantasy – You’re Too Late (12” Extended Mix)
      11. The Quick – Zulu (12” Mix)
    • CD 4
      1. Ms. Sharon Ridley – Changin’ (Full-Length Version)
      2. Melba Moore – You Stepped Into My Life (John Luongo Remix)
      3. Patti Labelle – Music Is My Way Of Life John Luongo Remix)
      4. Jackie Moore – This Time Baby (Special 12” Version)
      5. Johnny Mathis – Gone, Gone, Gone (Disco Mix)
      6. Dan Hartman Featuring Loleatta Holloway – Vertigo/Relight My Fire (Progressive Instrumental Remix)
      7. North End – Kind Of Life (Kind Of Love) (12″ Vocal)
      8. Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr. – Shine On Silver Moon (12” Mix)
      9. Marlena Shaw – Love Dancin’ (12″ Mix)
      10. Gonzalez – Haven’t Stopped Dancing Yet (12” Disco Version)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments