Big Star / Complete Third box set


This October, Omnivore Recordings will release Complete Third, a comprehensive reissue of Big Star‘s 1974 album (issued in 1978) that documents, in detail, the recording sessions across three CDs.

This set will contain 69 tracks in total, or to put it another way “every demo, rough mix, outtake, alt take and final master from the Third sessions known to exist”. Twenty-nine of these are previously unreleased.

One CD at a time, the box set allows you to track the creation of the album from the original demos, through sessions and rough mixes, to the final masters of each song. It will come with a booklet that includes an essay from Bud Scoppa and notes from original participants (and a raft of artists influenced by the band).

Three separate double LPs of this content will follow at a later date, with each vinyl volume representing a CD in the boxed set.

Third (aka Sister Lovers) was recorded in 1974. By the time it was eventually issued in 1978 by the PVC label Big Star had not been active for four years. Original band member Chris Bell would be tragically killed in a car accident later that same year.

Complete Third is due for release on 14 October 2016.

Compare prices and pre-order

Big Star

Complete Third



Volume 1: Demos to Sessions to Roughs
1. Like St. Joan (Kanga Roo) [Demo]*
2. Lovely Day (Demo)
3. Downs (Demo)
4. Femme Fatale (Demo)
5. Thank You Friends (Demo)
6. Holocaust (Demo)
7. Jesus Christ (Demo)
8. Blue Moon (Demo)
9. Nightime (Demo)
10. Take Care (Demo)
11. Big Black Car (Demo #2/Acoustic Take 1)
12. Don’t Worry Baby
13. I’m In Love With A Girl*
14. Big Black Car (Demo #3/Acoustic Take 2)
15. I’m So Tired – Alex & Lesa
16. That’s All It Took – Alex & Lesa
17. Pre-Downs*
18. Baby Strange*
19. Big Black Car (Demo #1/Band)
20. Kizza Me (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)*
21. Till The End Of The Day (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)*
22. Thank You Friends (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)*
23. O, Dana (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
24. Dream Lover (Dickinson Rough Mix)*

Vol. 2: Roughs to Mixes
1. Big Black Car (Dickinson Rough Mix/Alex Guide Vocal)*
2. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
3. Take Care (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
4. Holocaust (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
5. Nightime (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
6. Thank You Friends (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
7. Nature Boy (Dickinson Rough Mix)*
8. After Hours – Lesa
9. Stroke It Noel*
10. Lovely Day (Fry Rough Mix)*
11. Nightime (Fry Rough Mix)*
12. Blue Moon (Fry Rough Mix)*
13. Till The End Of The Day (Alternate Mix #1)
14. Big Black Car
15. Holocaust
16. Downs (Fry Rough Mix)*
17. Kanga Roo
18. Femme Fatale (Fry Rough Mix)*
19. For You (Alternate Version/Alex Vocal)*
20. Thank You Friends (Fry Rough Mix)*
21. Take Care ((Alternative Version/Alex Vocal)*
22. Kizza Me (Fry Rough Mix)*
23. Till The End Of The Day (Fry Rough Mix #2/Lesa Vocals) – Lesa
24. Nature Boy (Fry Rough Mix)
25. Manana

Vol. 3: Final Masters
1. Stroke It Noel
2. Downs
3. Femme Fatale
4. Thank You Friends
5. Holocaust
6. Jesus Christ
7. Blue Moon
8. Kizza Me
9. For You
10. O, Dana
11. Nightime
12. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
13. Kanga Roo
14. Take Care
15. Big Black Car
16. Dream Lover
17. You Can’t Have Me
18. Till The End Of The Day
19. Lovely Day
20. Nature Boy

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments