Brian May / Another World reissue

The logo from hell returns

Brian May’s second solo album, 1998’s Another World, will get a ‘Gold Series’ reissue in April this year.

Six years on from Back to the Light, Another World failed to deliver any top 40 singles in the UK but was generally well-received at the time. The formats for the reissue echo what was delivered for Back to the Light last year, with 2CD, box set (2CD+coloured vinyl LP), and black vinyl LP available, in addition to the standard CD. Cassette and picture disc options are up for grabs via D2C channels.

This, dear Listener, is the second release in my “Brian May Gold Series” reissues.To this album, historically my second solo record,we’ve applied the same loving care that we lavished on‘Back to the Light’ – repolishing and remastering but using the exact original mixes.Originally delivered 24 years ago, ‘Another World’ is now reborn just as it was originally created.”

Brian May. 2022.

The 15-track bonus disc (dubbed ‘Another Disc’ and available only on the 2CD and in the box set) offers various remixes, rarities, live tracks and actually opens with Brian speaking a tribute to drummer Cozy Powell (recorded in ’98) who features on this album, but sadly died in a car crash before it was released.

“Let’s design a horrible logo and then put it all over the shop” – Gold Series logo highlighted by SDE in yellow (click image to enlarge)

The remastering is by Bob Ludwig, and the ‘Collector’s Edition’ box includes both CDs and a coloured, sky-blue vinyl LP in a 12-inch lift lid box, complete with 32-page booklet and enamel badge.

Sadly, despite wide derision at the awful ‘Gold Series’ logo – with manages to make the product seem tacky, rather than premium (watch this unboxing video of the previous box) – this risible design element endures and is plastered over everything!

Another World will be reissued on 22 April 2022.


Another World Brian May / 2CD+LP box set

    • CD 1: Another World
      1. Space
      2. Business
      3. China Belle
      4. Why Don’t We Try Again
      5. On My Way Up
      6. Cyborg
      7. The Guv’nor
      8. Wilderness
      9. Slow Down
      10. One Rainy Wish
      11. All The Way From Memphis
      12. Another World
      13. Being On My Own
    • CD 2: Another Disc
      1. Brian Talks
      2. “The Business” (Rock On Cozy Mix)
      3. Hot Patootie
      4. F.B.I. (Original Ruff Mix With Real Bass And Drums)
      5. Maybe Baby
      6. Only Make Believe
      7. Otro Lugar
      8. Cyborg (Solo Instrumental Version)
      9. Business Stings
      10. I’ll Be Prayin’
      11. On My Way Up (Guitar Version)
      12. The Last Great Optimist
      13. On My Way Up (Live in Paris, June ’98)
      14. Hammer To Fall (Live in Paris, June ’98)
      15. My Boy
    • Vinyl LP
      Side 1
      1. Space
      2. Business
      3. China Belle
      4. Why Don’t We Try Again
      5. On My Way Up
      6. Cyborg
      Side 2
      1. The Guv’nor
      2. Wilderness
      3. Slow Down
      4. One Rainy Wish
      5. All The Way From Memphis
      6. Another World


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments