Carter USM / Hello, Good Evening, Welcome. And Goodbye


Offer a David Frost-style greeting (and then goodbye) to Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine as 3 Loop Music deliver a live album of their last-ever radio session…

On 7 November 2014 a hardcore bunch of avid Sex Machinists gathered to witness an hour-long career-spanning set by Carter USM for Steve Lamacq’s BBC 6Music Maida Vale show. JimBob and Fruitbat played 13 tracks featuring many of their hits and fan favourites including Rubbish, The Only Living Boy In New Cross and Sheriff Fatman, plus covers of Pet Shop BoysRent and This Is How It Feels by Inspiral Carpets with guest vocals by Inspirals’ frontman Tom Hingley.

This new release is available on CD and vinyl, although the sharp-eyed among you will note that the track listing below for the vinyl only includes a dozen of the 13 songs played that night, but fret ye not – the LP comes with an MP3 download which additionally includes the missing piece of the pie: Glam Rock Cops.

According to the BBC, demand for tickets for the Carter USM gig was the highest for any 6Music Maida Vale show, and two weeks later a performance at Brixton Academy brought their near thirty-year career to a close. “Carter USM were one of the first bands I championed while working at the NME, from the backrooms of London’s pubs to the top of the summer festival bills,” said Lamacq at the time. “So it’s sad they’re properly calling it a day, but we wanted a proper tribute for them and for all the listeners who’ve followed them down the years.”

Hello, Good Evening, Welcome. And Goodbye comes complete with sleeve notes from JimBob and recollections of the day by stalwart “band support and paddock buddy” Mr Spoons.

Hello, Good Evening, Welcome. And Goodbye is out now on CD (in the UK at least..) with the vinyl LP to follow at the end of January / early February 2016.



Vinyl LP



1. Intro
2. Rubbish
3. Do Re Me So Far So Good
4. Everytime a Churchbell Rings
5. Anytime Anyplace Anywhere
6. A Prince in a Pauper’s Grave
7. And God Created Brixton
8. Glam Rock Cops
9. This Is How It Feels (Feat Tom Hingley)
10. Let’s Get Tattoos
11. The Music That Nobody Likes
12. The Only Living Boy in New Cross
13. Sheriff Fatman
14. Rent

Vinyl LP

Side A

  • Rubbish
  • Do Re Me, So Far So Good
  • Everytime A Churchbell Rings
  • Anytime Anyplace Anywhere
  • A Prince In A Pauper’s Grave
  • And God Created Brixton

Side B

  • This Is How It Feels (featuring Tom Hingley)
  • Let’s Get Tattoos
  • The Music That Nobody Likes
  • The Only Living Boy In New Cross
  • Sheriff Fatman
  • Rent

*comes with MP3 download which also includes Glam Rock Cops

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments