David Bowie / “The Next Day”: 2CD+DVD collector’s edition


This November, Sony/Columbia will release a special three-disc collector’s edition of David Bowie‘s 2013 ‘comeback’ album The Next Day.

“The Next Day Extra” as it is being dubbed in some quarters, breaks down as follows: Disc one is the original 14-track album, while disc two is a ten-track ‘companion CD‘ which includes the three bonus tracks from the original deluxe edition (So She, Plan and I’ll Take You There), the Japanese-only bonus track (God Bless The Girl), two remixes (Love Is Lost and I’d Rather Be High) and four previously unreleased tracks (Atomica, The Informer, Like A Rocket Man, and Born In A UFO). The third disc is a DVD featuring the four videos made for the songs Where Are We Now?, The Stars (Are Out Tonight), The Next Day and Valentine’s Day.


If you’re feeling aggrieved that you have to buy this new set for the previously unreleased songs, then it might be some form of consolation that Sony are offering a seven-track digital download that includes everything on the second disc, except the three bonus tracks that came with the original deluxe edition.

Since its release in March, The Next Day has reached number one in 15 countries and been a darling of the critics, culminating in a recent Mercury Music Prize nomination. It just goes to show what a 10-year absence can achieve, since the album is really no better or worse than Reality or Heathen, the two (excellent) records that preceded it.

The Next Day Collector’s Edition will be released on 4 November 2013.

The Next Day / 3-disc collector’s edition track listing:

CD 1

  • 1. The Next Day
  • 2. Dirty Boys
  • 3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
  • 4. Love Is Lost
  • 5. Where Are We Now?
  • 6. Valentine’s Day
  • 7. If You Can See Me
  • 8. I’d Rather Be High
  • 9. Boss of Me
  • 10. Dancing Out In Space
  • 11. How Does the Grass Grow?
  • 12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire
  • 13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
  • 14. Heat

CD 2

  • 01 Atomica
  • 02 Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for The DFA)
  • 03 Plan
  • 04 The Informer
  • 05 Like A Rocket Man
  • 06 Born In A UFO
  • 07 I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)
  • 08 I’ll Take You There
  • 09 God Bless The Girl
  • 10 So She


Videos for the following:

  1. Where Are We Now?
  2. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
  3. The Next Day
  4. Valentine’s Day

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments