Donald Fagen / Cheap Xmas vinyl box

First ever vinyl release of the ‘complete’ Donald Fagen box

The recent reissue of the ‘complete’ Donald Fagen Cheap Xmas five-CD box set was very welcome, but much more exciting is the news that a first ever vinyl edition of the same set will be with us before the end of the year.

This seven-LP box includes all of Fagen’s solo albums – The Nightfly (1982), Kamakiriad (1993), Morph The Cat (2006), Sunken Condos (2012) and a bonus LP, ’10 Extras’, which features rarities such as demos, songs written for films and live tracks.

The price in the UK is £73, which is already good value, but bear in mind that you’d probably pay that just to track down a decent original copy of the Walter Becker produced Kamakiriad on vinyl. And while no one is claiming the vinyl edition of The Nightfly included here will sound as good as Mobile Fidelity’s recent Ultradisc One-Step Pressing, you are getting close to Fagen’s entire output on vinyl for less than the press of that one audiophile box.

Morph The Cat and Sunken Condos are both double albums (although there is no music on side three of Condos), which is why Cheap Xmas is a seven-LP box. Sunken Condos has never been issued on black vinyl (the original was clear) so that’s another fact worth pointing out.

This vinyl edition of Cheap Xmas: Donald Fagen Complete will be released on 8 December 2017.

Compare prices and pre-order

Donald Fagen

Cheap Xmas: Donald Fagen Complete - 7LP vinyl box

Shop Price gbp Stock

Compare prices and pre-order

Donald Fagen

Cheap Xmas: Donald Fagen Complete - 5CD box


The Nightfly

Side: 1
1. I.G.Y.
2. Green Flower Street
3. Ruby Baby
4. Maxine

Side: 2
1. New Frontier
2. The Nightfly
3. The Goodbye Look
4. Walk Between Raindrops


Side: 1
1. Trans-Island Skyway
2. Countermoon
3. Springtime
4. Snowbound

Side: 2
1. Tomorrow’s Girls
2. Florida Room
3. On The Dunes
4. Teahouse On The Tracks

Morph The Cat

Side: 1
1. Morph The Cat
2. H Gang

Side: 2
1. What I Do
2. Brite Nightgown

Side: 3
1. The Great Pagoda Of Funn
2. Security Joan

Side: 4
1. The Night Belongs To Mona
2. Mary Shut The Garden Door
3. Morph The Cat (Reprise)

Sunken Condos

Side: 1
1. Slinky Thing
2. I’m Not The Same Without You
3. Memorabilia

Side: 2
1. Weather In My Head
2. The New Breed
3. Out Of The Ghetto

Side: 3
1. Miss Marlene
2. Good Stuff
3. Planet D’Rhonda

10 Extras

Side: 1
1. Rhymes
2. Big Noise New York (Demo)
3. True Companion (Soundtrack Version)
4. Confide In Me (Demo)
5. Blue Lou (from Glengarry Glenn Ross)

Disc: 2
1. Shanghai Confidential
2. Green Flower Street (Live at the Beacon)
3. Century’s End
4. Hank’s Pad (Live)
5. Viva Viva Rock ‘N’ Roll (Live)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments