Eric Clapton / The Definitive 24 Nights

Massively expanded box set editions

Ratings Ratings

The Definitive 24 Nights / Eric Clapton 6CD + 3 x blu-ray box

SDE Reader Rating


Eric Clapton’s 1991 live album 24 Nights will be reissued in June as The Definitive 24 Nights, two massively expanded super deluxe box sets.

Clapton’s groundbreaking run of 24 concerts at London’s Royal Albert Hall were some of the most ambitious shows of his career. Each night featured him performing a career-spanning set with one of three lineups – a rock band, a blues band, or an orchestra conducted by Michael Kamen.

Clapton surrounded himself with superlative musicians for these concerts. The roster includes the likes of Johnnie Johnson, Jimmie Vaughan, Chuck Leavell, Phil Collins, Robert Cray, Buddy Guy, Albert Collins, Nathan East, Greg Phillinganes, Steve Ferrone, Ray Cooper and Jerry Portnoy.

The 8LP + 3xblu-ray edition of The Definitive 24 Nights

The double album that was released (on vinyl, CD and cassette) covered a fraction of what was filmed and recorded but 34 years later that is about to change with a total of eight physical editions lead by 6CD+ 3blu-ray and 8LP+3blu-ray super deluxe edition box sets!

All audio has been restored, remixed and remastered and the three types of concert have been effectively formatted into three double albums which all fit on two CDs or three vinyl records (the exception is the Blues concert which fits on 2LPs). The two super deluxe edition box sets bring all of these together, which is why the CD version has six CDs and the vinyl edition has eight LPs.

Both box sets include three blu-rays (unavailable anywhere else), details of which are scant but which clearly will be devoted to the three types of show. A limited theatrical presentation called Across 24 Nights is planned for May which features a Dolby Atmos soundtrack, so that suggests the blu-rays included in the box set should also feature a Dolby Atmos soundtrack (not confirmed).

The 6CD + 3xblu-ray edition of The Definitive 24 Nights

Each box set also includes a hardcover book and an individually numbered lithograph featuring a photograph of Clapton by Carl Studna.

The three concerts (Rock, Blues and Orchestral) are also available individually as 2CD+DVD sets or 3LP (Rock, Orchestral) or 2LP (Blues) vinyl sets.

The Definitive 24 Nights and the individual 24 Nights sets are released on 23 June 2023 via Warner Music.


The Definitive 24 Nights Eric Clapton /

    • CD 1 & 2/ LPs 1, 2 & 3 Rock Show
      1. Pretending**
      2. Running On Faith**
      3. Breaking Point
      4. I Shot The Sheriff (Feat. Phil Collins on drums)
      5. White Room**
      6. Can’t Find My Way Home (Feat. Nathan East on lead vocals)
      7. Bad Love**
      8. Before You Accuse Me
      9. Lay Down Sally
      10. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (Feat. Phil Collins on
      11. Old Love
      12. No Alibis (This version was released as a B-side
        of the single ‘Wonderful Tonight’)
      13. Tearing Us Apart
      14. Cocaine
      15. Wonderful Tonight**
      16. Layla
      17. Crossroads
      18. Sunshine Of Your Love
      ** (on 1991 CD release)
    • CD 3 & 4 / LPs 4 & 5 : Blues Show
      1. Key To The Highway
      2. Worried Life Blues **
      3. Watch Yourself **
      4. Have You Ever Loved A Woman**
      5. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
      6. Something On Your Mind
      7. All Your Love (I Miss Loving)
      8. Johnnie’s Boogie
      9. Black Cat Bone
      10. Reconsider Baby
      11. My Time After A While
      12. Sweet Home Chicago
      13. Watch Yourself (Reprise)
      ** (on 1991 CD release)
    • CDs 5 & 6 or LPs 6, 7 & 8: Orchestral Show
      1. Crossroads
      2. Bell Bottom Blues **
      3. Lay Down Sally
      4. Holy Mother
      5. I Shot The Sheriff
      6. Hard Times **
      7. Can’t Fine My Way Home (Feat. Nathan East on
        lead vocals)
      8. Edge Of Darkness**
      9. Old Love
      10. Wonderful Tonight
      11. White Room
      12. Concerto For Electric Guitar (30 min piece, composed by Michael Kamen for Eric. Previously unreleased)
      13. A Remark You Made (A tribute to Jaco Pastorius)
      14. Layla
      15. Sunshine Of Your Love

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments