James / Justhipper: Complete Sire & Blanc Y Negro Recordings 1986-1988

Early years, newly remastered, on good value 2CD set

Later this month, Cherry Red are to release Justhipper, a two-CD compilation that brings together earlier recordings of James.

Before the Manchester band signed to Fontana and enjoyed success with Gold Mother, Seven and the albums that followed, they released two records via Sire/Blanc Y Negro – 1986’s Stutter and 1988’s Strip-mine.

This new package effectively contains expanded editions of both those albums (both of which have been newly remastered). Appended to these are non-album singles (A and B-sides) and some different mixes. Disc two ends with a rare, promotional-only interview from the era.

This set will come packaged as a digipak and is released on 28 July 2017.

Compare prices and pre-order


Justhipper ~ The Complete Sire & Blanco Y Negro Recordings 1986-1988 (Digipack)


CD 1 / Stutter: Remastered and Expanded
1. Skullduggery
2. Scarecrow
3. So Many Ways
4. Just Hip
5. Johnny Yen
6. Summer Song
7. Really Hard
8. Billy’s Shirts
9. Why So Close
10. Withdrawn
11. Black Hole

Bonus tracks

12. Chain Mail (Single version)
13. Uprising (Single version)
14. Hup-Springs (Single version)
15. Justhipper

CD 2 / Strip-mine: Remastered and expanded 
1. What For
2. Charlie Dance
3. Fairground
4. Are You Ready
5. Medieval
6. Not There
7. Ya Ho
8. Riders
9. Vulture
10. Stripmining
11. Refrain

Bonus tracks

12. Ya Ho (Single version)
13. Mosquito (Single version)
14. Left Out Of Her Will (Single version)
15. New Nature (Single version)
16. What For (Climax Mix)
17. Island Swing (Single version)
18. James Who? A Talk With… (Interview) [Single version]

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments