Janet Jackson / Janet deluxe edition

1993 album reissued with 7 bonus tracks

Janet Jackson / Janet reissue

Janet Jackson’s 1993 album Janet will be reissued as an expanded deluxe edition in July.

This record was Jackson’s fifth studio album and her second after the international success of 1986’s Control. Like that record, and 1989’s Rhythm Nation 1814, it featured the production and writing skills of Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. Notably, it was Janet’s first album for Virgin Records after a high-profile bidding war with the incumbent label A&M losing out.

All six singles from Janet reached the top ten of the US charts, with two songs (‘That’s The Way Love Goes’ and ‘Again’) hitting the top spot. In the UK, the singles from Janet faired slightly better than the previous album and the singer enjoyed a whopping seven top 20 UK singles with two top ten hits!

The 3LP deluxe vinyl edition of Janet (click image to enlarge)

Already a 75+ minute album (it actually only has 12 ‘proper’ songs with loads of interludes) the deluxe edition for 2023 adds a few extra songs and some remixes. These are all on the third LP of the 3LP vinyl edition which comes in a tri-gatefold, ‘upgraded’ jacket and a booklet of rarely seen photos from the period of its release.

The same seven bonus tracks feature on CD 2 of the 2CD deluxe edition which is offered in a slightly less lavish jewel case, assuming the packshot is accurate.

Note, that the availability of the 3LP vinyl is limited to certain channels. For example, in the UK, it’s a D2C-only edition (direct-to-consumer) and can be pre-ordered via The Sound of Vinyl. In Germany, you can pick it up at JPC.de.

Janet will be reissued on 7 July 2023 via UMe/Virgin. More CD links should come through on the widget soon!

Pre-order 3LP vinyl from

The 2CD deluxe of Janet


Janet Jackson / Janet reissue

Janet Janet Jackson / deluxe reissue

    • LP 1
      Side A
      1. Morning
      2. That’s The Way Love Goes
      3. You Know
      4. You Want This
      5. Be A Good Boy
      6. If
      Side B
      1. Back
      2. This Time
      3. Go On Miss Janet
      4. Throb
      5. What’ll I Do
      6. The Lounge
      7. Funky Big Band
    • LP 2
      Disc C
      1. Racism
      2. New Agenda
      3. Love Part 2
      4. Because Of Love
      5. Wind
      6. Again
      7. Another Lover
      8. Where Are You Now
      Disc D
      1. Hold On Baby
      2. The Body That Loves You
      3. Rain
      4. Any Time, Any Place
      5. Are You Still Up
      6. Sweet Dreams
      7. Whoops Now
    • LP 3
      Disc E
      1. And On And On
      2. 70’s Love Groove
      3. One More Chance
      Disc F
      1. You Want This (Remix) (feat. MC Lyte)
      2. Where Are You Now (Nelle Hooper Mix)
      3. Because Of Love (Muggs 7″ With Bass Intro)
      4. That’s The Way Love Goes (CJ R&B 7″ Mix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments