Jimmy Somerville / Read My Lips reissue

2CD and 2LP vinyl editions

Ratings Ratings

Read My Lips reissue / Jimmy Somerville 2CD set

SDE Reader Rating


Jimmy Somerville’s debut solo album, Read My Lips, is being reissued in September.

The 1989 album featured three top 30 UK singles, including ‘Comment Te dire Adieu’ (with June Miles Kingston) and Jimmy’s version of Sylvester’s ‘You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)’ (which reached No 5).

Previously reissued as a 2CD set by Demon in 2012, this reissue from London Records is available as a single LP (the original 10 track album on blue vinyl) and as a deluxe double LP on transparent vinyl with remixes from William Orbit, AMYL and B-sides and rarities such as ‘From This Moment On’ (from Red, Hot + Blue) and ‘I Believe In Love’ (with Arthur Baker and The Beat Disciples).

A new double CD version contains further remixes from Gerd Janson and Arpeggius; as well as unreleased demos, B-Sides and rarities. The reissue includes new sleeve notes by Paul Burston.

If you buy a bundle from the official Jimmy Somerville shop, it comes with a free 6-track CD single of ‘You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)’ with what looks like all new remixes.

Read My Lips is reissued on 1 September 2023 via London Records.

Jimmy Somerville shop highlights


Read My Lips Jimmy Somerville / reissue

    • CD 1
      1. Comment Te Dire Adieu
      2. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)
      3. Perfect Day
      4. Heaven Here On Earth (With Your Love)
      5. Don’t Know What To Do (Without You)
      6. Adieu! (Madame Tata Mix)
      7. Read My Lips (Enough Is Enough)
      8. My Heart Is In Your Hands
      9. Control
      10. And You Never Thought This Could Happen To You
      11. Rain
      Bonus tracks
      1. Not So God Almighty
      2. From This Moment On
      3. I Believe in Love
      4. Tell The World
      5. Stranger
    • CD 2
      1. Read My Lips (Enough Is Enough)(AMYL Remix)
      2. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) (Gerd Janson Remix)
      3. Comment Te Dire Adieu (Commercial Mix)
      4. Rain (Pascal Gabriel Mix)
      5. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) (Arpeggius Club Vocal)
      6. Run From Love (ft. Claudia Brücken) (12” Remix)
      7. Until I Get Over You (Demo)
      8. I Won’t Let You See Me Cry (Demo)
      9. And You Never Thought This Could Happen To You (Demo)
      10. Read My Lips (Enough Is Enough) (Demo)
      11. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) (William Orbit Remix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments