Kate Puckrik presents A Yacht Rock Odyssey

4CD and 2LP sets

Broadcaster and journalist Katie Puckrik is the face of a new compilation of Yacht Rock music that is being released at the end of August. A Yacht Rock Odyssey, as it is called, will be available as a 4CD set (with limited edition version with a signed print) and as a double vinyl package.

The term ‘Yacht Rock’ conjures up the lush West Coast sound from about 1975 to 1985: escapist jazz-inflected soft rock, burnished to a high sheen by session musicians and producers at the peak of their powers. Puckrik’s involvement in this project stems from her acclaimed 2019 BBC TV documentary on the subject called I Can Go for That: The Smooth World of Yacht Rock, and she has also hosted a series of Yacht Rock specials on BBC Radio 2.

The 4CD limited edition version of A Yacht Rock Odessey with signed print (click to enlarge)

Katie explains where her love of “Yacht Rock” began: “When I was a kid in suburban Virginia, Yacht Rock was the music that sailed out of girlfriends’ cassette players, older boys’ muscle cars, and grown-ups’ cocktail parties. Encompassing lifers Michael McDonald, Toto and Average White Band as well as toe-dippers like Carly Simon, Robert Palmer and the Pointer Sisters, Yacht’s frisson springs from its slick sound set against lyrics about aspiration and alienation, hedonism crossed with thwarted desire. The blade might be smooth, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t sharp.

The 4CD edition boasts 72 tracks across four themed discs with music from the likes of Michael McDonald, Toto, Average White Band, Christopher Cross, George Benson, Al Jarreau, Steve Winwood, Chaka Khan, Curved Air, Carly Simon, Randy Crawford, Little Feat, Robert Palmer, Chicago, Steve Miller Band and many more. The 24-track 2LP vinyl version simplifies and divides the offering into two categories: ‘Sunshine’ and ‘Moonlight’.

Katie Puckrick presents A Yacht Rock Odyssey will be released on 30 August, via Demon Music.

Compare prices and pre-order

Katie Puckrik

A Yacht Rock Odyssey - limited 4CD set with signed print


Compare prices and pre-order

Katie Puckrik

A Yacht Rock Odyssey - 2LP vinyl

The 2LP version of A Yacht Rock Odessey (click image to enlarge)


A Yacht Rock Odessey Various Artists /

      Some of the most beloved West Coast classics this side of Malibu.
      1. Christopher Cross / Ride Like The Wind [45 Version]
      2. Starbuck / Moonlight Feels Right
      3. George Benson / Turn Your Love Around
      4. Carly Simon / You Belong To Me
      5. Kenny Loggins / This Is It
      6. Raydio / You Can’t Change That
      7. Average White Band / Whatcha Gonna Do for Me
      8. Bobby Caldwell / What You Won’t Do For Love
      9. Boz Scaggs / Lowdown [Single Version]
      10. Robbie Dupree / Steal Away
      11. Al Jarreau / Mornin’
      12. Pablo Cruise / What’cha Gonna Do?
      13. Gino Vannelli / People Gotta Move
      14. Ace / How Long
      15. Stephen Bishop / Save It For A Rainy Day
      16. The Pointer Sisters / He’s So Shy
      17. Steve Winwood / Valerie (original 1982 recording)
      18. Player / Baby Come Back
      19. Chaka Khan / Through The Fire [45 Version]
      20. Toto / Africa
      Female singer-songwriters and interpreters who broadened the palette of Yacht Rock.
      1. Olivia Newton-John / Magic
      2. Nicolette Larson / Lotta Love
      3. Laura Allan / Opening Up To You
      4. Carole Bayer Sager / It’s The Falling In Love
      5. Carly Simon / It Keeps You Runnin’
      6. Curved Air / Touch Of Tequila
      7. Lauren Wood / Save The Man
      8. Samantha Sang / Emotion
      9. Rajie / Last Chance
      10. Evie Sands / Lady Of The Night
      11. Maria Muldaur / Open Your Eyes
      12. Holly Near / Back Off
      13. Kiki Dee / Love Is A Crazy Feeling
      14. Akiko Yano / Telephone Line
      15. Diane Tell / Tes Yeux
      16. Wendy Waldman / Cold Back On Me
      17. Karla Bonoff / Someone To Lay Down Beside
    • CD 3: DEEP DIVE
      Shining a light on rare Yacht treasures. 
      1. Maxus / Nobody’s Business
      2. Toto / Georgy Porgy
      3. Average White Band / Isn’t It Strange
      4. Greg Guidry / Show Me Your Love
      5. Dane Donahue / Freedom
      6. Randy Crawford / That’s How Heartaches Are Made
      7. Paul Anka / Walk A Fine Line
      8. Robbie Dupree / Brooklyn Girls
      9. Little Feat / Red Streamliner
      10. Robert Palmer / Every Kinda People
      11. Larsen-Feiten Band / Who’ll Be The Fool Tonight
      12. Lake / Key To The Rhyme [Album Version]
      13. Leo Sayer / Easy To Love
      14. Amy Holland / How Do I Survive
      15. Pages / The Sailor’s Song
      16. Airplay / Nothin’ You Can Do About It
      17. Bill Champlin / Keys To The Kingdom
    • CD 4: NIGHT SAIL
      A smoochy set to keep you and the moon company. 
      1. The Jones Girls / Nights Over Egypt
      2. Michael McDonald / I Keep Forgettin’ (Every Time You’re Near)
      3. Grover Washington Jr. And Bill Withers / Just The Two Of Us
      4. Kenny Rankin / Creepin’
      5. Steve Winwood / Hold On
      6. Chicago / Wishing You Were Here
      7. Lonette McKee / Maybe There Are Reasons
      8. Ned Doheny / Get It Up For Love
      9. Loggins & Messina / Move On
      10. JD Souther / Midnight Prowl
      11. Michael Sembello / Lay Back (Menage À Trois)
      12. Robert Palmer / Give Me An Inch
      13. Kool & The Gang / Too Hot
      14. Pousette-Dart / Band Winterness
      15. Bernie Leadon / Glass Off
      16. Steve Miller Band / Sacrifice
      17. Christopher Cross / Sailing

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments