Leonard Cohen vinyl reissues


Sony are to reissue Leonard Cohen‘s first three albums on vinyl in April next year.

Songs of Leonard Cohen was the Canadian singer-songwriter’s 1967 debut and features So Long Marianne, Suzanne and Sisters of Mercy amongst its ten tracks. 1969 follow-up Songs From A Room was produced by Bob Johnston, whose credits included Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited and Blonde On Blonde. The album opens with another Cohen classic Bird On A Wire. Songs of Love And Hate was released in 1971 (again produced by Johnston) and includes further famous Cohen compositions in Joan of Arc and Famous Blue Raincoat. 

songsfromaroomSony’s Legacy Recordings reissued all three of these albums on CD back in 2007 in attractive hardcover book packaging. These expanded sets included previously unreleased bonus tracks and it looked like the start of a serious reissue campaign. Unfortunately it started and ended with those three albums, and no other Cohen record was afforded the same treatment.

These forthcoming reissues re-trend the same ground, but on 180g vinyl. There is no official confirmation, but it seems unlikely that these sets will include any bonus material and will simply replicate the long-players as originally released, presumably staying faithful to original packaging.

The ‘Songs’ trilogy: Songs of Leonard Cohen, Songs From A Room and Songs of Love and Hate are reissued on vinyl on 29 April 2016.

Update: These will now be issued on 27 May 2016.


Compare prices and pre-order

Cohen, Leonard

Songs Of Love And Hate [VINYL]



Songs of Leonard Cohen

Side one

  1. Suzanne – 3:48
  2. Master Song – 5:55
  3. Winter Lady – 2:15
  4. The Stranger Song – 5:00
  5. Sisters of Mercy – 3:32

Side two

  1. So Long, Marianne – 5:38
  2. Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye – 2:55
  3. Stories of the Street – 4:35
  4. Teachers – 3:01
  5. One of Us Cannot Be Wrong – 4:23

Songs From A Room

Side one

  1. Bird on the Wire – 3:28
  2. Story of Isaac – 3:38
  3. A Bunch of Lonesome Heroes – 3:18
  4. The Partisan – 3:29
  5. Seems So Long Ago, Nancy – 3:41

Side two

  1. The Old Revolution – 4:50
  2. The Butcher – 3:22
  3. You Know Who I Am – 3:32
  4. Lady Midnight – 3:01
  5. Tonight Will Be Fine – 3:53


Songs of Love and Hate

Side one

  1. Avalanche – 5:07
  2. Last Year’s Man – 6:02
  3. Dress Rehearsal Rag – 6:12
  4. Diamonds in the Mine – 3:52

Side two

  1. Love Calls You by Your Name – 5:44
  2. Famous Blue Raincoat – 5:15
  3. Sing Another Song, Boys – 6:17
  4. Joan of Arc – 6:29

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments