Matthew Sweet / Girlfriend pink vinyl

Matthew Sweet‘s 1991 album Girlfriend is being reissued as a limited pink vinyl pressing via Music On Vinyl.

The album is widely regarded as a career highlight and features the talents of a fine set of musicians including Lloyd Cole, Robert Quine and Fred Maher, amongst others.

Recorded in 1990 following his divorce, Girlfriend was Sweet’s third long-player and singles Divine Intervention and the title track are fairly representative of what’s on offer.

Intervention Records have recently brought out a 2LP expanded edition of this album, although it’s not particularly easy to get hold of in the UK (Pledge did list these for a while, but given the recent issues, best to steer clear of them).

This pink vinyl edition is limited to 1000 numbered units and comes with a six-page insert. It’s released on 5 April 2019 and you can pre-order from the SDE shop using this link or the button below.

Side 1

  1. Divine Intervention
  2. I’ve Been Waiting
  3. Girlfriend
  4. Looking At The Sun
  5. Winona
  6. Evangeline

Side 2

  1. Day For Night
  2. Thought I Knew You
  3. You Don’t Love Me
  4. I Wanted To Tell You
  5. Don’t Go
  6. Your Sweet Voice

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments