Motörhead / No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith 40th anniversary deluxe edition

4CD edition and 3LP vinyl

Ratings Ratings

No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith / Motörhead 4CD deluxe edition

SDE Reader Rating


Motörhead‘s 1981 album No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith is to be reissued for its 40th anniversary across a number of formats, including a four-CD deluxe edition with previously unreleased performances.

The record featured tracks from the band’s ‘Short Sharp Pain in the Neck’ tour which saw them play Newcastle, Leeds, Norfolk and Belfast in the space of a week, in late March 1981.

The 11-track album – issued in June of the same year – featured three tracks from Ace Of Spades, five from Overkill, the title track from Bomber title track and two from their debut. It was the only Motorhead number one album and Lemmy is quoted as saying: “I knew it’d be the live one that went best, because we’re really a live band. You can’t listen to a record and find out what we’re about.You’ve got to see us.”

Motorhead / No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith 4CD 40th anniversary edition
4CD deluxe edition adds three full concerts to the remaster of the original (click image to enlarge)

The 40th anniversary reissue features a new remaster of the original album created from the original tapes. The four-CD edition includes five bonus tracks on the first disc (three of which are previously unreleased from a soundcheck) and features three previously unreleased full concerts from this tour: Leeds Queen Hall (28/3/81) and both nights from Newcastle City Hall (29 & 30 March). Just over half of the original album is from the Newcastle show on the 30 March, in case you are wondering. The box set is pictured above and includes 28-page book, poster, plectrum, tour pass, ticket, flyer & badge.

Motorhead / No Sleep Til Hammersmith 3LP 40th anniversary vinyl edition
3LP set features original album remastered and the full 30 March Newcastle show (click image to enlarge)

A 3LP 40th anniversary edition features the new remaster of No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith and the full Newcastle show from 30 March 1981. A two-CD edition repeats the same content.

These 40th anniversary editions of No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith will be released on 25 June 2021 via Sanctuary/BMG.


No Sleep ‘Til Hammersmith Motörhead / 40th anniversary 4CD set

      1. Ace Of Spades
      2. Stay Clean
      3. Metropolis
      4. The Hammer
      5. Iron Horse
      6. No Class
      7. Overkill
      8. (We Are) The Roadcrew
      9. Capricorn
      10. Bomber
      11. Motorhead
      12. Over The Top
      13. Train Kept A Rollin’
      Bonus (Live Soundcheck at Newcastle City Hall – March 30, 1981)
      1. Stay Clean
      2. Limb From Limb
      3. Iron Horse

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments