Neil Young and Crazy Horse / Early Daze

Mostly unreleased rarities from the early 70s

Neil Young and Crazy Horse / Early Daze

Neil Young is releasing an album of some of his earliest recordings with Crazy Horse; familiar songs in mostly rare, unreleased versions.

The 10-track album includes iconic Neil Young originals and a few tracks co-written with Danny Whitten, including unreleased versions of ‘Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown’ (first issued on Crazy Horse’s 1971 debut album as ‘Downtown, and then later on Tonight’s The Night) and ‘Look At All The Things’ (a solo Whitten composition, also from Crazy Horse).

There’s also unreleased versions of ‘Helpless’, ‘Wonderin” and ‘Down by the River’ plus rare/unreleased mixes of ‘Birds’ and ‘Cinnamon Girl’ (the seven-inch mono mix that includes a guitar outro not on the original LP version).

This album is effectively like a mini Archives release! Speaking of which, only two tracks out of 10 feature in an Archives box (Vol 1), surely making this a ‘must buy’ for Neil Young fans. It’s available on CD, black vinyl and an indie clear vinyl pressing (the latter comes with an exclusive poster).

Early Daze will be released on 28 June 2024, via Warner Records.


Neil Young and Crazy Horse / Early Daze

Early Daze Neil Young and Crazy Horse /

      1. Dance Dance Dance (Included on Neil Young – Archives Vol. I.)
      2. Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown (Unreleased version)
      3. Winterlong (Unreleased version)
      4. Everybody’s Alone (Different mix
        included on Archives Vol. I)
      5. Wonderin’ (Unreleased version)
      6. Cinnamon Girl (Original 7” Mono
        mix. Released April 20, 1970. Includes guitar outro not on LP version.)
      7. Look At All The Things (Unreleased version)
      8. Helpless (Unreleased version)
      9. Birds (Unreleased stereo mix). Mono mix was released as B-side to “Only Love Can Break Your Heart”)
      10. Down By The River (Unreleased
        version with alternate vocals)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments