Neil Young’s Harvest reissued for its 50th anniversary

Vinyl and CD boxes with rare audio and video

Neil Young’s most popular album, 1972’s Harvest, will be reissued for its 50th anniversary in December.

Recorded with newly assembled band The Stray Gators, Young’s fourth solo album features classic songs such as ‘Heart of Gold’, ‘Old Man’ and ‘The Needle and The Damage Done’ and topped the albums charts around the world upon release in early 1972. In fact, in America it was the best-selling album of 1972.

The vinyl box set edition of the Harvest 50th anniversary includes two DVDs (click image to enlarge)

The 50th anniversary reissue comes in either vinyl or CD box set form, with both including two DVDs. In terms of bonus audio, Young’s much-bootlegged February 23 BBC In Concert is included on CD and vinyl in the respective packages and three Harvest outtakes are also made available in physical form for the first time. They are: ‘Bad Fog of Loneliness’, ‘Journey Through the Past’ and ‘Dance Dance Dance’. These are on CD 3 in the CD box and on a seven-inch single in the vinyl set.

The first of the two DVDs is the video performance of BBC In Concert, while the second is the previously unreleased two-hour documentary called Harvest Time. This should be amazing as it captures the making of the album from start to finish and was directed by Neil Young and his film crew in 1971.

To clarify, the vinyl box is 2LP+7″+2DVD, while the CD box is 3CD+2DVD. Both sets come with a poster and a hardcover book which includes never-before-seen photos along with extensive sleeve notes by photographer Joel Bernstein.

The 50th anniversary of Harvest will be released on 2 December 2022 via Reprise Records.

The 3CD+2DVD box set of Harvest (click image to enlarge)


Harvest Neil Young / 50th anniversary edition

    • CD 1 / LP 1: Harvest
      1. Out on the Weekend
      2. Harvest
      3. A Man Needs a Maid
      4. Heart of Gold
      5. Are You Ready for the Country?
      6. Old Man
      7. There’s a World
      8. Alabama
      9. The Needle and the Damage Done
      10. Words (Between the Lines of Age)
    • CD 2 / LP 2: BBC In Concert
      1. Out on the Weekend (Live)
      2. Old Man (Intro) [Live]
      3. Old Man (Live)
      4. Journey Through the Past (Intro) [Live]
      5. Journey Through the Past (Live)
      6. Heart of Gold (Intro) [Live]
      7. Heart of Gold (Live)
      8. Don’t Let It Bring You Down (Intro) [Live]
      9. Don’t Let It Bring You Down (Live)
      10. A Man Needs a Maid (Intro) [Live]
      11. A Man Needs a Maid (Live)
      12. Love in Mind (Intro) [Live]
      13. Love in Mind (Live)
      14. Dance Dance Dance (Live)
    • CD 3 / 7″ Single : Harvest Outtakes
      1. Bad Fog of Loneliness (Outtake)
      2. Journey Through the Past (Outtake)
      3. Dance Dance Dance (Outtake)
    • DVD 1: BBC In Concert
      1. Video of the BBC In Concert
    • DVD 2: Harvest Time
      1. 2 hour documentary filmed by Neil Young and crew in 1971

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments