Now That’s What I Call Music 13

1988 compilation reissued as a 2CD set

The Now That’s What I Call Music team continue to reissue the original compilations and have announced NOW 13 for re-release next month.

Originally put out in November 1988, this compilation marks a shift towards dance music and, in particular, Acid House. It includes tracks from Bomb the Bass (‘Don’t Make Me Wait’), Inner City (‘Big Fun’) from Yazz & The Plastic Population (‘The Only Way Is Up) and D-Mob feat. Gary Haisman (‘We Call It Acieed’).

There’s still plenty of 80s pop/rock however, with contributions from Erasure (‘A Little Respect’), Duran Duran (‘I Don’t Want Your Love’), Bryan Ferry (‘Let Stick Together’), Robert Palmer (‘She Makes My Day’), Level 42 (‘Heaven in My Hands’) and The Human League (‘Love Is All That Matters To Me’). It’s interesting to note that what you might broadly call ‘indie’ bands are all but absent.

The reissue omits Phil Collin’s ‘A Groovy Kind Of Love’ and therefore offers 31 not 32 ‘Top Chart Hits’. We know Collins’ has ‘previous’ when it comes to his songs not ‘clearing’ for licensing.

Now That’s What I Call Music 13 is reissued on 18 November 2022.


Now That’s What I Call Music 13 Various Artists /

    • CD 1
      1. Yazz & The Plastic Population – The Only Way Is Up
      2. Womack & Womack – Teardrops
      3. Erasure – A Little Respect
      4. The Christians – Harvest For The World
      5. Hue & Cry – Ordinary Angel
      6. UB40 & Chrissie Hynde – Breakfast In Bed
      7. Robert Palmer – She Makes My Day
      8. Breathe – Hands To Heaven
      9. Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy
      10. Art Of Noise feat. Tom Jones – Kiss
      11. Bryan Ferry – Let’s Stick Together (’88 Remix)
      12. Kim Wilde – You Came
      13. Bomb The Bass – Don’t Make Me Wait
      14. Brother Beyond – The Harder I Try
      15. The Hollies – He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother
    • CD 2
      1. Fat Boys & Chubby Checker – The Twist
      2. Wee Papa Girl Rappers – Wee Rule
      3. Salt-N-Pepa – Twist And Shout
      4. Yello – The Race
      5. Inner City – Big Fun
      6. D-Mob feat. Gary Haisman – We Call It Acieed
      7. The Beatmasters – Burn It Up
      8. Milli Vanilli – Girl You Know It’s True
      9. Level 42 – Heaven In My Hands
      10. Jane Wiedlin – Rush Hour
      11. The Proclaimers – I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)
      12. T’Pau – Secret Garden
      13. Transvision Vamp – I Want Your Love
      14. Duran Duran – I Don’t Want Your Love
      15. The Human League – Love Is All That Matters
      16. All About Eve – Martha’s Harbour

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments