Now That’s What I Call Music 14

“30 Top Chart Hits” on two CDs

The Now That’s What I Call Music team will reissue NOW 14 as a 2CD set next month, around 34 years after the original release.

This March 1989 compilation is something of a mish-mash and documents the changing music scene in the UK in the late 1980s with Yazz, S’Express, Inner City, Tone Loc and Neneh Cherry representing a new wave of artists which could be loosely grouped in the dance/hip-hop/house/acid house genres.

There’s still room for old school acts however with Simple Minds’ UK number one ‘Belfast Child’ included along with contributions from Status Quo, Roy Orbison, Gene Pitney (with Marc Almond, of course) and the decidedly unhip Michael Ball singing Andrew Lloyd Webber’s ‘Love Changes Everything’!

Climie Fisher, Brother Beyond and Level 42 deliver some hits from the second tier while Duran Duran have their last top 10 single of the 1980s with the club-oriented ‘All She Wants Is’. Elsewhere, Fine Young Cannibals step up to the big time with ‘She Drives Me Crazy’ and Sam Brown makes here mark with the excellent ‘Stop’.

There are two songs missing from what was originally a 32-track compilation. They are Phil ‘no-you-can’t-license-my-song’ Collins’ US number one ‘Two Hearts’ (from the Buster soundtrack) and another American chart-topper, INXS’ ‘Need You Tonight’, which wasn’t a No 2 hit in Britain until it was re-released in November 1988, in case you are wondering about the dates. Yes, incredibly, ‘Need You Tonight’ was a flop in the UK first time around…

Now That’s What I Call Music 14 will be reissued as a 2CD set on 14 April 2023.

Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

Now Thats What I Call Music 14 - 2CD set



Now That’s What I Call Music 14 Various Artists /

    • CD 1
      1. Marc Almond & Gene Pitney – Something’s Gotten Hold Of My Heart
      2. Erasure – Stop!
      3. Bananarama – Help! (feat. Lananeeneenoonoo)
      4. Hue & Cry – Looking For Linda
      5. Yazz – Fine Time
      6. Kim Wilde – Four Letter Word
      7. Sam Brown – Stop
      8. Roy Orbison – You Got It
      9. Fine Young Cannibals – She Drives Me Crazy
      10. Status Quo – Burning Bridges (On And Off And On Again)
      11. Then Jerico – Big Area
      12. Morrissey – The Last Of The Famous International Playboys
      13. Poison – Every Rose Has Its Thorn
      14. Simple Minds – Belfast Child
    • CD 2
      1. Neneh Cherry – Buffalo Stance
      2. Inner City – Good Life
      3. S’Express – Hey Music Lover
      4. Living In A Box – Blow The House Down
      5. The Style Council – Promised Land
      6. Adeva – Respect
      7. Tone loc – Wild Thing
      8. Natalie Cole – I Live For Your Love
      9. Robin Beck – First Time
      10. Paula Abdul – Straight Up
      11. Samantha Fox – I Only Wanna Be With You
      12. Brother Beyond – Be My Twin
      13. Climie Fisher – Love Like A River
      14. Duran Duran – All She Wants Is
      15. Level 42 – Tracie
      16. Andrew Lloyd Webber, Michael Ball – Love Changes Everything

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments