Now That’s What I Call Music 9

Full compilation on 2CD for the first time

Now That's What I Call Music 9 released as a two-CD set for the first time

The Now team continue to reissue the original compilations and have announced that Now That’s What I Call Music 9 is to be released, in full, on CD for the first time later this month.

Originally issued in March 1987, the 30-track various artists collection knocked U2‘s mighty The Joshua Tree from the top spot of the UK albums chart and spent five weeks at number one.

Simply Red’s ‘The Right Thing’ was a top 20 hit in the UK and a top 30 hit in America

Now 9 was actually released as a 15-track, abbreviated, single CD back in the day, but this is the first time it has been available in its entirety across two CDs, and there are no tracks missing!

The selection is very ‘1987’ and it includes some brilliant pop songs like Simply Red‘s ‘The Right Thing’, Curiosity Killed The Cat‘s ‘Down to Earth’, Erasure‘s ‘Sometimes’, Robbie Nevil‘s ‘C’est La Vie’, Mental As Anything‘s ‘Live It Up’, The Blow Monkeys‘ ‘It Doesn’t Have To Be This Way’, a-ha‘s ‘Manhattan Skyline’, the Pretenders‘ ‘Hymn to Her’ and Berlin‘s ‘Take My Breath Away’, to name but a few.

‘It’s Doesn’t Have To Be This Way’ would be The Blow Monkeys biggest UK hit, peaking at number five.

But the compilation also signposts the shifting musical landscape. Ben E King‘s ‘Stand By Me’ and and Jackie Wilson‘s ‘Reet Petite’ reminds us of the British public’s penchant for putting old songs at the top of the charts (Boris Gardener‘s ‘I Want To Wake Up With You’ was on Now 8) and the power of TV/advertising. Meanwhile, Steve ‘Silk’ Hurley’s ‘Jack Your Body’ paved the way for House/Acid House scene. Perhaps surprisingly, given this is 1987, there are no Stock Aitken Waterman-produced songs on this collection.

Now That’s What I Call Music 9 is released as a two-CD set on 23 July 2021.


Now That's What I Call Music 9 released as a two-CD set for the first time

Now That’s What I Call Music 9 Various Artists / 2CD reissue

    • CD 1
      1. Jackie Wilson – Reet Petite
      2. Mental As Anything – Live It Up
      3. Simply Red - The Right Thing
      4. Erasure – Sometimes
      5. Robbie Nevil – C’est La Vie
      6. Hot Chocolate – You Sexy Thing
      7. The Blow Monkeys – It Doesn’t Have To Be This Way
      8. The Housemartins – Caravan Of Love
      9. Boy George – Everything I Own
      10. UB40 – Rat In Mi Kitchen
      11. The Gap Band – Big Fun
      12. Five Star – Stay Out Of My Life
      13. Pepsi & Shirlie – Heartache
      14. Bananarama – A Trick Of The Night
      15. Berlin – Take My Breath Away (Love Theme From “Top Gun”)
    • CD 2
      1. Freddie Mercury – The Great Pretender
      2. Ben E. King – Stand By Me
      3. Curiosity Killed The Cat – Down To Earth
      4. The Communards – So Cold The Night
      5. Steve “Silk” Hurley – Jack Your Body
      6. Taffy – I Love My Radio
      7. Nick Kamen – Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
      8. a-ha – Manhattan Skyline
      9. Westworld – Sonic Boom Boy
      10. Bon Jovi – Livin’ On A Prayer
      11. Genesis – Land Of Confusion
      12. Europe – The Final Countdown
      13. Gary Moore – Over The Hills And Far Away
      14. The Ward Brothers – Cross That Bridge
      15. Pretenders – Hymn To Her

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments