Pete Townshend / Half-speed mastered vinyl

Rough Mix and Empty Glass

Two Pete Townshend solo albums from the late 70s/ early 80s will be reissued as limited edition half-speed mastered vinyl editions, in June.

The albums in question are 1977’s Rough Mix, a collaboration with Small Faces bassist Ronnie Lane and Empty Glass from 1980. The latter was produced by Chris Thomas and features the US top 10 single ‘Let My Love Open The Door’. The first single Rough Boys scraped into the UK top 40.

Both records have been mastered by long-time Who engineer Jon Astley and cut for vinyl by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. Rough Mix comes in a gatefold sleeve, and Empty Glass features a 300mm x 600mm poster.

These will be released on 23 June 2023, via UMR.


Rough Mix Pete Townsend / Half-speed mastered vinyl LP

    • Side one
      1. My Baby Gives It Away
      2. Nowhere To Run
      3. Rough Mix
      4. Annie
      5. Keep Me Turning
      6. Catmelody
      Side Two
      1. Misunderstood
      2. April Fool
      3. Street In The City
      4. Heart To Hang Onto
      5. Till The Rivers Run Dry


Empty Glass Pete Townsend / Half-speed mastered vinyl LP

    • Side one
      1. Rough Boys
      2. I Am An Animal
      3. And I Moved
      4. Let my Love Open The Door
      5. Jools And Jim
      Side Two
      1. Keep On Working
      2. Cat’s In The Cupboard
      3. A Little Is Enough
      4. Empty Glass
      5. Gonna Get Ya

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments