Shelleyan Orphan / five-disc box set

Caroline Crawley and Jemaur Tayle formed British baroque folk-pop group Shelleyan Orphan in Bournemouth in 1983 and released four albums in total, three of them between 1987 and 1992. Sadly, the death of Crawley late last year brought the story to a close, but the music lives on and has been remastered and represented for a forthcoming five-disc deluxe box set.

This new limited edition set, simply titled Shelleyan Orphan, will contain the three albums the band recorded for Rough Trade – 1987 debut Helleborine, follow-up Century Flower (1989) and 1992’s Humroot – but doesn’t feature 2008’s final album We Have Everything We Need.

In fact, incredibly, Jem recently told writer Nick Churchill that this box set was compiled edited and mastered at that time (2008): “It was never actually released and it wasn’t until last year that someone at the label found it, realised all the work had been done and finally decided to put it out,” he said, adding, “I’d pretty much forgotten about it if I’m honest, just put it down to being yet another one of those things that seem to have conspired over the last 30 years to make sure were never a success.”

In addition to the three remastered albums, this new collection features a special 19-track bonus disc that includes unreleased demos, rare BBC Radio 1 Session and rarities like session tracks with Art of Noise’s Anne Dudley, featuring Geoffrey Bayldon (from the UK TV programme, Catweazle).

A fifth disc is a DVD which features some videos (and TV appearances) and this also comes with a 20-page booklet that features an essay penned by Crawley and Tayle. Poignantly, this deluxe set includes a hand-written letter from Jem Tayle in light of Caroline’s death last year.

This Shelleyan Orphan deluxe box set is due to be released on 30 June 2017.

Compare prices and pre-order

Orphan, Shelleyan

Shelleyan Orphan

Shop Price gbp Stock
FNAC fr   35.00

CD 1 – Helleborine:
2. Anatomy of love
3. Blue black grape
4. Jeremiah
5. Cavalry of cloud
6. Midsummer pearls and plumes
7. Epitaph ivy and woe
8. Helleborine
9. One hundred hands
10. Seeking bread and heaven
11. melody of birth.

CD 2 – Century Flower:
1. Shatter
2. Timeblind
3. Tar baby
4. self
5. Summerflies
6. The silent day
7. Century flower
8. Amanita muscaria
9. between two waves
10. A few small hours

CD 3 – Humroot:
1. Muddied up
2. Dead cat
3. Fishes
4. Burst
5. Sick
6. Little death
7. Big sun
8. Dolphins
9. Mull
10. Long dead flowers
11. Swallow
12. Supernature on a Super Highway.

CD 4 – Bonus disc:
1. Cavalry Of Cloud (Live at BBC Radio 1, 1984)
2. Melody Of Birth (Live at BBC Radio 1, 1984))
3. Cavalry Of Cloud Medley ( Anne Dudly 1985)
4. Theme with Geoffrey Bayldon (Anne Dudley 1985, b-side)
5. Harmony Drone (b-side)
6. Anatomy Of Love ( US version)
7. Southern Bess ( demo version)
8. Epitaph Ivy And Woe ( demo version)
9. Century Flower ( demo version)
10. Silent Day (demo version)
11. Self (demo version)
12. Shatter (instrumental monitor mix)
13. Fishes (monitor mix)
14. Sick (demo version)
15. The Little Death (demo version)
16. Dolphins (monitor mix)
17. Hide My Smile (demo version)
18. Space (demo version)
19. Evolute (demo version)

1. Anatomy of Love (the Tube)
2. Epitaph Try and Woe (The Tube)
3. Calvary of Cloud (video)
4. Shatter (Video)
5. Burst (Video)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments