Talking Heads / Stop Making Sense 2LP vinyl reissue

Features two previously unreleased bonus tracks

Talking Heads / Stop Making Sense vinyl reissue

The full audio of Talking Heads classic 1984 concert film, Stop Making Sense, will be issued on vinyl for the first time in August.

Directed by Jonathan Demme, Stop Making Sense presented a retrospective of the band up to that point, with a performance that weaves together songs from all their studio albums at that time.

While it focuses mainly on music by Talking Heads but does include a few songs recorded outside the band: ‘Genius Of Love’ by Weymouth and Frantz’s side-project Tom Tom Club and ‘What A Day That Was’ and ‘Big Business’ from Byrne’s 1981 album, The Catherine Wheel.

The Stop Making Sense 2LP vinyl reissue

Today, David Byrne says it’s interesting that this album was – for many people – an introduction to Talking Heads: “We had done a live album before this, but coupled with the film, and with the improved mixes and sound quality, this record reached a whole new audience. As often happens, the songs got an added energy when we perform them live and were inspired by having an audience. In many ways, these versions are more exciting than the
studio recordings, so maybe that’s why a lot of folks discovered us via this record.”

The film itself will be going back to cinemas globally this year and this new 2LP set includes the previously unreleased tracks ‘Cities’ and ‘Big Business/I Zimbra’.

The vinyl reissue replicates the booklet from the original and includes additional pages with never-seen-before photos and brand new notes written by Chris, David, Jerry and Tina.

Stop Making Sense is reissued on 2LP vinyl on 18 August 2023, via Rhino. That’s a painful US/UK price differential.

Compare prices and pre-order

Talking Heads

Stop Making Sense - 2LP vinyl



Talking Heads / Stop Making Sense 2LP reissue

Stop Making Sense Talking Heads / 2LP vinyl

    • LP 1
      Side A
      1. Psycho Killer
      2. Heaven
      3. Thank You for Sending Me an Angel
      4. Found a Job
      5. Slippery People
      6. Cities *
       Side B
      1. Burning Down the House
      2. Life During Wartime
      3. Making Flippy Floppy
      4. Swamp
      * Previously Unreleased
    • LP 2
       Side C
      1. What a Day That Was
      2. This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)
      3. Once in a Lifetime
      4. Big Business/I Zimbra *
      Side D
      1. Genius of Love
      2. Girlfriend is Better
      3. Take Me to the River
      4. Crosseyed and Painless
      * Previously Unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments