Tears For Fears / Everybody Wants To Rule The World: The Collection


We know you’ve already spent your Tears For Fears budget on pre-ordering The Hurting deluxe box set, but we thought we’d draw your attention to this slightly weird ‘budget’ greatest hits that has been put out via Universal Music’s Spectrum imprint in the last few weeks.

It’s a mix of classic singles, B-sides and the occasional oddity. It’s deliberately not ‘comprehensive’ but is still rather intriguing. So you get Mad World and Change, but not Pale Shelter. Songs From The Big Chair selections include Shout and Everybody Wants To Rule The World, but not Head Over Heels. Mothers Talk is included, but in the not-really-as-good ‘US Remix’ re-recording.

If you only know Break It Down Again, from the Curt Smith-free Elemental album (not included here) you’re in for a treat because Cold and in particular Goodnight Song are excellent, and both are on this new compilation. So is Cold B-side New Star, another corker with its sixties psychedelic vibe.

Universal haven’t had the nerve to leave off Sowing The Seeds Of Love (here is seven-inch guise) but Woman In Chains has gone AWOL. Year Of The Knife and Advice For The Young At Heart are also included from The Seeds Of Love.

Remarkably, Ideas As Opiates – one of the Hurting-era Peel Session tracks, which is only available on disc three of the forthcoming box set – gets a sneaky debut on this compilation! Yes, previously unreleased. Go, as they say, figure.

Everybody Wants To Rule The World – The Collection also benefits from a really attractive cover design, and – here’s the best bit – the CD is currently only £3.80 on Amazon UK complete with MP3s via ‘autorip’. Bizarrely, if you buy the MP3s on their own it costs £8.49. So you ‘save’ £4.69 by buying physical product with your MP3s. Nice!

NB: All prices correct at the time of writing.

Everybody Wants To Rule The World – The Collection track listing:

  • 1. Mad World 3:323
  • 2. Shout (Album Version) 6:30
  • 3. Sowing The Seeds Of Love (7″ Version) 5:42
  • 4. Advice For The Young At Heart 4:42
  • 5. Everybody Wants To Rule The World 4:06
  • 6. Johnny Panic And The Bible Of Dreams 4:16
  • 7. Ideas As Opiates (Peel Session 1/9/1982) 3:50
  • 8. Year Of The Knife 7:04
  • 9. Mothers Talk (U.S. Remix) 4:15
  • 10. Change 4:15 £0.89
  • 11. Tears Roll Down 3:14
  • 12. Start Of The Breakdown 4:54
  • 13. Memories Fade 5:05
  • 14. New Star 4:25
  • 15. Goodnight Song 3:51
  • 16. Cold 5:02

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments