Tears For Fears / “The Hurting” four-disc box set: exclusive details

Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
The Hurting 3CD+DVD box set will be limited

Universal Music will release a deluxe reissue of Tears For Fears‘ 1983 debut album The Hurting on 21 October 2013.

Since the band asked fans to ‘get ready’ for a big year back in March – on the very day The Hurting celebrated its 30th birthday – it has been widely expected that the record would be reissued. What perhaps wasn’t anticipated was the scale of the celebrations.

Boxing clever

The Hurting will not only be issued as a two-CD deluxe edition (which includes a 16-track bonus disc of remixes, B-sides and alternate versions), it will also be offered as a limited edition four-disc box set, adding a third CD of previously unreleased live sessions and a DVD of the 1984 concert film In My Mind’s Eye, in which the band perform The Hurting live at the Hammersmith Odeon (almost in its entirety).

Each of the four discs will be packaged in individual gatefold wallets and the box will also contain a replica of the Tears For Fears’ 1983 tour programme and a 34-page hardback book detailing the making of the album with rare and previously unseen photos.

Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
One of the rare images included in the hardback book

SuperDeluxeEdition lends a hand

We are proud to inform our readers that SuperDeluxeEdition editor Paul Sinclair was invited to contribute to this set, and not only helped compile the track listing but also interviewed Roland and Curt for the sleeve notes within the hardback book. As a result, we have the inside track on this release, and will happily try to answer any questions you may have around The Hurting reissue.

One thing’s for sure, whether you opt for the two-disc deluxe edition or the box set, you will be treated to a wealth of remastered material, with many bonus tracks released on CD for the first time.

The early single version of Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love) is included in seven and twelve-inch variants, while debut 45 Suffer The Children makes four appearances on the bonus disc, including the instrumental version and the original twelve-inch remix. The so-called ‘new version’ of fourth single Change (originally appended to the UK cassette of The Hurting) gets its CD debut, as does the early B-side takes on album tracks Ideas As Opiates and The Prisoner. The first Tears For Fears B-side, the quirky Wino, is present and correct having been omitted from 1996’s Saturnine Martial & Lunatic flip-side compilation.

The autumn 1982 live radio sessions with David ‘kid’ Jensen and John Peel are commercially released for the first time. These eight tracks (four for each session) can be found on CD 3 within the box set. Change and Start Of The Breakdown – live from Oxford – complete this disc (both originally issued on the limited edition seven-inch double-pack of non-album single The Way You Are).

The In My Mind’s Eye – Live At Hammersmith Odeon concert film is issued on DVD for the very first time, especially for this box set. Watch Me Bleed is the only track from The Hurting not performed and the band also try out a few tracks from second album Songs From The Big Chair such as Mothers Talk and The Working Hour.

3CD+DVD Box Set

2CD Deluxe Edition

The Hurting reissue / Full track listings:

Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
Click to enlarge

Disc 1 – The Hurting

  1. The Hurting
  2. Mad World
  3. Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love)
  4. Ideas As Opiates
  5. Memories Fade
  6. Suffer The Children
  7. Watch Me Bleed
  8. Change
  9. The Prisoner
  10. Start Of The Breakdown
Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
Click to enlarge

Disc 2 – B-sides and Remixes

  1. Suffer The Children (7″ Version)
  2. Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love)
  3. The Prisoner (B-side)
  4. Ideas As Opiates (B-side)
  5. Change (New Version)
  6. Suffer The Children (Remix)
  7. Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love) (Extended Version)
  8. Mad World (World Remix)
  9. Change (Extended Version)
  10. Pale Shelter (Extended Version)
  11. Suffer The Children (Instrumental)
  12. Change (7″ Edit)
  13. Wino (B-Side)
  14. The Conflict (B-Side)
  15. We Are Broken (B-Side)
  16. Suffer The Children (Promo CD Version)
Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
Click to enlarge

Disc 3 – Live Sessions (Box Set Only)

Peel Session 01.09.1982

  • 1. Ideas As Opiates
  • 2. Suffer The Children
  • 3. The Prisoner
  • 4. The Hurting

Jensen Session 20.10.1982

  • 5. Memories Fade
  • 6. The Prisoner
  • 7. The Start Of The Breakdown
  • 8. The Hurting

From ‘The Way You Are’ single

  • 9. Start Of The Breakdown (Live)
  • 10. Change (Live)
Tears For Fears / The Hurting reissue: 4-disc box set
Click to enlarge

Disc 4 – DVD – In My Mind’s Eye – Live At Hammersmith Odeon (Box Set Only)

  1. Start Of The Breakdown
  2. Mothers Talk
  3. Pale Shelter
  4. The Working Hour
  5. The Prisoner
  6. Ideas As Opiates
  7. Mad World
  8. We Are Broken
  9. Head Over Heels
  10. Suffer The Children
  11. The Hurting
  12. Memories Fade
  13. Change

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments