The Band / Music From Big Pink super deluxe box set offers brand new 5.1 mix

It wasn’t crystal clear when announced, but fans considering the forthcoming The Band Music From Big Pink box set might like to know that the 5.1 surround mix included on the blu-ray audio (which is exclusive to the box) is a BRAND NEW MIX and not simply the old 5.1 mix from the DVD-Audio, re-presented.

The previous surround mix was created by Don Gillert, for the 2003 DVD-A, but Bob Clearmountain has produced a new 5.1 surround mix of Music From Big Pink – and the six bonus tracks! Clearmountain knows what he is doing in the surround domain, he created the acclaimed 30th anniversary 5.1 mixes for Bob Marley & The WailersLegend blu-ray audio back in 2014.

The Band blu-ray audio also contains the new 2018 stereo mix of the album (also created by Bob Clearmountain) in high resolution audio (96kHz/24bit).

While we’re on the subject of the box set, as suspected, the double vinyl edition of the album included is a 45RPM pressing. As well as the CD, blu-ray, and two vinyl records, this box set includes an exclusive reproduction of The Band’s 1968 seven-inch vinyl single of The Weight / I Shall Be Released (using the new stereo mixes) and a hardbound book with notes by David Fricke.

Music from Big Pink will be reissued on 31 August 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order

The Band

Music From Big Pink 5-disc box set


In the Super Deluxe Edition:


2018 stereo mix

  1. Tears Of Rage
  2. To Kingdom Come
  3. In A Station
  4. Caledonia Mission
  5. The Weight
  6. We Can Talk
  7. Long Black Veil
  8. Chest Fever
  9. Lonesome Suzie
  10. This Wheel’s On Fire
  11. I Shall Be Released

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
  2. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
  3. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
  4. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
  5. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
  6. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)


Tracklist above in new 5.1 surround mix + 96kHz/24bit high resolution stereo (both exclusive to the box set)



  1. Tears Of Rage
  2. To Kingdom Come


  1. In A Station
  2. Caledonia Mission
  3. The Weight


  1. We Can Talk
  2. Long Black Veil
  3. Chest Fever


  1. Lonesome Suzie
  2. This Wheel’s On Fire
  3. The Weight

7″ Single 

The Weight b/w I Shall Be Released



SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments