The Beloved / Happiness 2CD deluxe

Remastered • Bonus disc of demos, B-sides and remixes

British electronic group The Beloved‘s first ‘proper’ album Happiness is reissued as a two-CD deluxe edition in July.

Largely recorded with producer Martyn Phillips, Happiness was issued in February 1990 making this reissue a 30th anniversary edition. The album contains three top 40 hit singles including ‘Hello’ and ‘Your Love Takes Me Higher’.

This new two-CD deluxe (the label are calling it a ‘special edition’) has been remastered from the original analogue studio masters (by John Davis at Metropolis Studios) and includes a bonus CD dubbed ‘The Wolf Studio Recordings’. This is a 15-track bonus disc of Happiness demos, B-sides, remixes as well as four previously unreleased songs recorded  in Brixton between 1988 and 1990.

The CD booklet includes new sleeve notes written by the band themselves and an album-only vinyl reissue is also available.

Happiness is reissued on 31 July 2020, via New State Entertainment.

CD 1
1. Hello
2. Your Love Takes Me Higher
3. Time After Time
4. Don’t You Worry
5. Scarlet Beautiful
6. The Sun Rising
7. I Love You More
8. Wake Up Soon
9. Up Up & Away
10. Found

CD 2
1. I Love You More [demo]
2. Jackie (Won’t You Please Come Home?)
3. Sally
4. My Heart’s Desire
5. Your Love Takes Me Higher [demo]
6. Your Love Takes Me Higher [piano/303 Demo]
7. Wake Up Soon [demo]
8. Acid Love (7″ Mix)
9. Acid Love (Acid Dream)
10. Paradise (My Darling, My Angel)
11. Time After Time [demo]
12. Time After Time [extended Demo Dub]
13. Jennifer Smiles
14. Pablo (7 Inch Mix)
15. The Sun Rising (Evening Session Remix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments