The Connells / Ring deluxe edition

30th anniversary reissue

Ratings Ratings

Ring reissue / The Connells 2CD deluxe

SDE Reader Rating


Anyone who watched MTV in the early 90s would not have missed the heavy rotation of The Connells‘ single ’74-’75. The popular song was a top 10 hit across Europe and reached No 14 in the UK.

As it turns out, the North Carolina alt-rock band had a history that went back to 1985 and Ring, the 1993 album that features 74-’75, was actually their fifth long-player and Mitch Easter had produced 1987’s Boylan Heights.

The band built a following in the US and had a string of college radio hits, but ultimately while Ring received critival praise, it was only a modest commercial success and the follow-up single (the ‘New Boy’ EP) couldn’t repeat the ’74-’75 climb to the higher reachers of the charts. Therefore it’s hard to deny that, in most territories, The Connells are regarded as a bit of a one-hit wonder, however, that hasn’t stopped Craft Recordings from opting to give this record an impressive-looking deluxe reissue.

The album has been newly remastered (by Brent Lambert) for its 30th anniversary and the new 2CD deluxe edition include 21 bonus tracks, including rare B-sides and 12 previously unreleased demos. This comes with new sleeve notes from David Menconi with new interviews from the band.

A black vinyl version of the album will also be released (no bonus tracks) and a yellow vinyl edition is available via the band’s official store (US only).

Ring will be reissued on 11 August 2023 via Craft Recordings.


Ring The Connells / 30th anniversary edition

    • CD 1
      1. Slackjawed
      2. Carry My Picture
      3. ’74-’75
      4. Doin’ You
      5. Find Out
      6. Eyes On The Ground
      7. Spiral
      8. Hey You
      9. New Boy
      10. Disappointed
      11. Burden
      12. Any Day Now
      13. Running Mary
      14. ’74-’75 (Radio Edit)
      15. Slackjawed (Radio Edit)
      16. Logan Street
      17. Wonder Why
      18. Living In The Past
    • CD 2
      1. ’74-’75 (Demo)*
      2. Carry My Picture (Demo)*
      3. Disappointed (Demo)*
      4. Doin’ You (Demo)*
      5. Eyes On The Ground (Demo)*
      6. Hey You (Demo)*
      7. Logan Street (Demo)*
      8. New Boy (Demo)*
      9. Running Mary (Demo)*
      10. Slackjawed (Demo)*
      11. Spiral (Demo)*
      12. Wonder Why (Demo)*
      13. New Boy (Live Acoustic Version)
      14. Doin’ You (Live Acoustic Version)
      15. Running Mary (Live Acoustic Version)
      16. ’74-’75 (Live Acoustic Version)
      *Previously Unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments