The Distractions / Nobody’s Perfect / two-CD deluxe reissue and vinyl

2CD remastered with 34 bonus tracks • plus Vinyl LP with stereo remix

The Distractions / Nobody's Perfect 2CD reissue

Post-punk/new wave band The Distractions‘ 1980 album Nobody’s Perfect has enjoyed ‘lost classic’ status for a long time and is finally reissued, remastered and expanded with a host of unreleased material.

The Manchester band were label mates with Joy Division in the late 1970s before they were signed to Island Records by legendary A&R man Nick Stewart (he signed U2). Nick is actually putting out this reissue on his own label which brings the story full circle 40 years on. Nick remembers it well:

In 1979 I went up to Manchester to meet Tony Wilson of Factory Records, with whom I forged a firm friendship. Joy Division weren’t interested in signing to Island Records, so Tony suggested I check out another local band who’d just recorded a single for Factory called ‘Time Goes by so Slow’… I loved it from the moment I heard it… and quickly struck a deal for The Distractions to join Island. My first signing!”

The new two-CD deluxe reissue takes the original 14 track album and expands it to 48 tracks. It contains the original album remastered (by Nick Halliwell and Jason Mitchell), all the non-album Island singles, a track from a compilation album, previously unreleased demos, the entire ‘You’re Not Going Out Dressed Like That’ 12-inch EP and both sides of the Factory single ‘Time Goes By So Slow’ (taken from the original master tape, for the first time). These two CDs include every track released by the original band 1978-81. The second disc also includes a new stereo remix of the album (by Nick Halliwell).

The 2CD set comes presented as a digipack and features sleeve notes by David Quantick. A 180g vinyl pressing features the new stereo remix.

I’m delighted to say that we have an exclusive availability via the SDE shop and all CD and vinyl pre-orders will come with a special 120 x 120mm art print of one of the portraits from the album cover, laminated complete with ‘hot foil’ effect. Additionally, the vinyl includes an A3 poster (folded once).

Nobody’s Perfect 2020 is reissued on 20 March 2020. Pre-order from the SDE shop via this link, or use the buttons below!


CD1: “Nobody’s Perfect”, 1979-81

1. Waiting For Lorraine
2. Something for the Weekend
3. Boys Cry (when no one can see them)
4. Sick and Tired
5. Leave you to Dream
6. Louise
7. Paracetamol Paralysis
8. (Stuck in a) Fantasy
9. Nothing
10. Wonder Girl
11. Still it doesn’t ring
12. Untitled
13. Looking for a Ghost
14. Valerie

Bonus tracks

15. It Doesn’t Bother Me
16. One Way Love
17. Something for the Weekend
18.What’s the use?
19.Twenty-Four Hours
20.Ghost of a Chance
21. Love is not for Me
22. Leave me

1-14: Nobody’s Perfect Island LP ILPS 9604. Produced by Phil Chapman and Jon Astley at Revolution, Manchester, 14/1/80-6/2/80. Extra instruments and vocals by The Frozen Jubblies.
15-16: Island 7″ WIP 6533. Produced by Jon Astley, engineered by Phil Chapman at Strawberry Sound, Manchester
17-18: Island 7″ WIP 6650. Produced by John Adcock at Strawberry Sound, Manchester, mixed by The Distractions and Brandon Leon.
19-21: And Then There’s… THAT 7” EP, THAT1
22: From Fools Rush In Where Angels Dare To Tread Martyrwell compilation LP MARY 141. Produced by Richard Strange, engineered by Andy Rose and Jon Astley.
1-18 ℗1979, 1980 Island Records Ltd. 19-21 ℗1981 THAT Records. 22 ℗ 1981 Martyrwell Music Company.

CD2: “Ride Your Ideas Ragged”, 1978-80

1. Pillow Fight (demo)*
2. Sick and Tired (demo)*
3. Still it doesn’t Ring (demo)*
4. Valerie (demo)*
5. Doesn’t Bother Me
6. Nothing
7. Maybe it’s Love
8. Too Young
9. Time Goes by so Slow
10. Pillow Fight
11. It Doesn’t Bother Me (stereo remix)
12. One Way Love (stereo remix)
13. Waiting For Lorraine (stereo remix)
14. Something for the Weekend (stereo remix)
15. Boys Cry (when no one can see them) (stereo remix)
16. Sick and Tired (stereo remix)
17. Leave you to Dream (stereo remix)
18. Louise (stereo remix)
19. Paracetamol Paralysis (stereo remix)
20. (Stuck in a) Fantasy (stereo remix)
21. Nothing (stereo remix)
22. Wonder Girl (stereo remix)
23. Still it doesn’t ring (stereo remix)
24. Untitled (stereo remix)
25. Looking for a Ghost (stereo remix)
26. Valerie (stereo remix)

1-4: Previously unreleased demos. Engineered by John Brierley at Cargo, Manchester, September 1978.
5-8: You’re Not Going Out Dressed Like That. TJM 12” EP TJM2. Produced by Brandon Leon, engineered by Phil Bush at Arrow Sound, Manchester, 9-10/11/78
9-10: Factory 7” FAC12. Produced by Brandon Leon, engineered by Phil Bush at Indigo Arrow.
11-26: Credits as CD1 1-16. Remixed by Nick Halliwell.
1-4 and 11-26 ℗ 2020 Occultation Recordings. 5-8 ℗ 1978 TJM Records. 9-10 ℗ 1979 Factory Records.
NOBODY’S PERFECT – 180g vinyl

1. Waiting For Lorraine (stereo remix)
2. Something for the Weekend (stereo remix)
3. Boys Cry (when no one can see them)  (stereo remix)
4. Sick and Tired (stereo remix)
5. Leave you to Dream  (stereo remix)
6. Louise (stereo remix)
7. Paracetamol Paralysis (stereo remix)
8. (Stuck in a) Fantasy (stereo remix)
9. Nothing (stereo remix)
10. Wonder Girl (stereo remix)
11. Still it doesn’t ring (stereo remix)
12. Untitled  (stereo remix)
13 Looking for a Ghost (stereo remix)
14. Valerie  (stereo remix)

1-14: Nobody’s Perfect Island LP ILPS 9604. Produced by Phil Chapman and Jon Astley at Revolution, Manchester, 14/1/80-6/2/80. Extra instruments and vocals by The Frozen Jubblies. Remixed by Nick Halliwell.
℗ 2020 Occultation Recordings.

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments