Pixies / Live in Brixton

All four shows in CD and vinyl box sets

Big vinyl and CD box sets features all four London shows from 2004

The Pixies’ triumphant live shows at Brixton Academy in 2004, which ended an 11-year hiatus, are to be released as Live in Brixton early next year and will be available as large format 8CD and 8LP coloured vinyl box sets.

Over the course of the four sold-out shows the band played almost all of the big hitters and fan favourites from the Doolittle and Surfer Rosa; key songs and obscurities from the rest of their catalogue; and covers in the shape of Neil Young’s Winterlong, Peter Ivers’ ‘In Heaven’ (from the David Lynch film Eraserhead) and The Jesus and Mary Chain’s ‘Head On’. Each of the four set lists was pretty different. 

The 8LP coloured vinyl box set of Live in Brixton (click image to enlarge)

The audio has been newly mastered by Phil Kinrade at Alchemy Mastering. The vinyl box set is spread across eight 180g LPs with each show split between two translucent coloured records. June 2nd is red, June 3rd is orange, June 5th is green, and June 6th is blue.

The vinyl is housed within a “beautifully crafted deluxe slipcase box” featuring silver foil detail that depicts the Brixton Academy venue. 

There is also a second version of the vinyl box set for independent retailers. The only difference here is that the records are clear vinyl with colour ‘splattered’ on them.

The 8CD box set of Live in Brixton comes in large format packaging (click image to enlarge)

The 8CD box set again uses the same colours for each night, with each show spread over two CDs. It will be packaged within a large format deluxe casebound book, with similar artwork to the two vinyl versions. 

All formats include a 24-page booklet which includes photos and memories and paraphernalia from fans who attended the shows. To top it all off, the packages are completed by a 68 x 48 cm fold-out poster which features the new Live In Brixton box set artwork. 

Live At Brixton will be released on 25 February 2022 (was 28 January).

The indie-exclusive ‘splatter’ coloured vinyl box set (click image to enlarge).


Live in Brixton Pixies / 8LP vinyl box

    • LP 1 (or CD 1)
      Side A: 
      1. Winterlong 
      2. Nimrod’s Son 
      3. The Holiday Song 
      4. Here Comes Your Man 
      5. Vamos
      Side B: 
      1. In Heaven 
      2. Wave Of Mutilation (UK Surf) 
      3. I Bleed 
      4. Monkey Gone To Heaven 
      5. Bone Machine 
      6. Velouria 
      7. Dead 
    • LP 2 (or CD 2)
      Side C: 
      1. No. 13 Baby 
      2. Subbacultcha 
      3. Gouge Away 
      4. Caribou 
      5. Hey 
      6. Cactus 
      7. River Euphrates 
      Side D: 
      1. Debaser 
      2. Broken Face 
      3. Something Against You 
      4. Tame 
      5. Gigantic 
      6. Wave Of Mutilation 
      7. Into The White 

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments