The Rolling Stones / 7″ Singles 1966-1971

Seven-inch singles box set

The Rolling Stones / 7" Singles 1966-1971

A new Rolling Stones seven-inch box set will be released in February next year. 7″ Singles 1966-1971 follows up the 1963-1966 collection from last year (watch the SDEtv unboxing video) and contains 18 vinyl singles and extended play records as originally released by Decca, London Records and ABKCO Records.

This features original packaging, original mono and stereo single mixes and all the hits from this classic era including five number ones. Tracks include ‘Paint It Black’, ‘Have You Seen Your Mother Baby Standing In The Shadow?’, ‘Let’s Spend The Night Together’, ‘Jumpin’ Jack Flash’, ‘Street Fighting Man’, ‘Honky Tonk Women’, ‘Brown Sugar’, and many other classics.

7″ Singles 1966-1971 (click image to enlarge)

It also features songs that while recorded between ’66 and ’71 where sometimes issued as singles after that, an example being ‘I Don’t Know Why’, which wasn’t issued until 1975 to promote the Stones rarities album Metamorphosis. A bit more dubiously, the Neptunes and Fat Boy Slim remixes of ‘Sympathy For The Devil’ (issued on SACD in 2003) now get their own seven-inch, although at least the original version is still on disc 17.

All the tracks in this box were remastered by Bob Ludwig, and the discs are manufactured by Third Man Pressing in Detroit. The set also comes with a 32-page book containing extensive liner notes by Nigel Williamson.

7″ Singles 1966-1971 will be released on 2 February 2024 via UMC/Polydor.


The Rolling Stones / 7" Singles 1966-1971

7″ Singles 1966-1971 The Rolling Stones /

    • Disc 1: “Paint It, Black” US version (originally released May 1966)
      1. Paint It, Black
      2. Stupid Girl
    • Disc 2: “Paint It, Black” UK version (originally released May 1966)
      1. Paint It, Black
      2. Long Long While
    • Disc 3: “Mother’s Little Helper” (originally released June 1966)
      1. Mother’s Little Helper
      2. Lady Jane
    • Disc 4: “Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?” (originally released September 1966)
      1. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?
      2. Who’s Driving Your Plane
    • Disc 5: “Let’s Spend The Night Together” (originally released January 1967)
      1. Let’s Spend The Night Together
      2. Ruby Tuesday
    • Disc 6: “We Love You” (originally released August 1967)
      1. We Love You
      2. Dandelion
    • Disc 7: “She’s A Rainbow” (originally released November 1967)
      1. She’s A Rainbow
      2. 2000 Light Years From Home
    • Disc 8: “In Another Land” (originally released December 1967)
      1. In Another Land
      2. The Lantern
    • Disc 9: “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” (originally released May 1968)
      1. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
      2. Child Of The Moon
    • Disc 10: “Street Fighting Man” US version (originally released August 1968)
      1. Street Fighting Man
      2. No Expectations
    • Disc 11: “Honky Tonk Women” (originally released July 1969)
      1. Honky Tonk Women (mono mix)
      2. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
    • Disc 12: “Memo From Turner” (originally released November 1970)
      1. Memo From Turner (Mick Jagger)
      2. Natural Magic (Ry Cooder) from the film Performance
    • Disc 13: “Street Fighting Man” UK maxi-single (originally released June 1971)
      1. Street Fighting Man
      2. Surprise Surprise
      3. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
    • Disc 14: “Brown Sugar” (A-side originally released April 1971; B-side originally released June 1971)
      1. Brown Sugar
      2. Wild Horses
    • Disc 15: “I Don’t Know Why” (originally released May 1975)
      1. I Don’t Know Why (aka Don’t Know Why I Love You)
      2. Try A Little Harder
    • Disc 16: “Out Of Time” (originally released September 1975)
      1. Out Of Time
      2. Jiving Sister Fanny
    • Disc 17: “Honky Tonk Women” (originally released April 1976)
      1. Honky Tonk Women (stereo mix)
      2. Sympathy For The Devil
    • Disc 18: “Sympathy For The Devil” Remix (originally released as part of SACD E.P. & CD single September 2003)
      1. Sympathy For The Devil (The Neptunes Remix)
      2. Sympathy For The Devil (Fat Boy Slim Remix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments