The Trojan Story 50th anniversary reissue

3LP and 3CD box sets

Legendary label Trojan Records have announced that their classic 1971 compilation, The Trojan Story, will be reissued on CD and vinyl next month.

The Trojan Story was the first ‘various artists’ compilation of Jamaican music; a comprehensive anthology of the island’s musical development, featuring vintage ska, rock steady and reggae music.

The collection was the idea of Trojan’s label manager Rob Bell who, with the help of Dandy Livingstone, Webster Shrowder and Joe Sinclair, produced the three-disc set.

The 3LP vinyl edition of The Trojan Story (click image to enlarge)

50 years on, The Trojan Story is reissued as a 3LP vinyl edition and comes with a 50-page booklet with stories behind the songs from the likes of The Maytals, Jimmy Cliff, Alton Ellis, Duke Reid, Desmond Dekker, The Ethiopians, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry and many more. There are 50 tracks in total.

There is also a three-CD version which features the same track listing as its vinyl counterpart. You can see what that looks like, below.

The Trojan Story is reissued on 18 June 2021, via BMG.

The 3CD edition of The Trojan Story (click image to enlarge)

Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

The Trojan Story - 50th anniversary 3CD set



The Trojan Story Various Artists / 3LP vinyl box set

    • Side A
      1. Invitation To Jamaica – Lord Tanamo
      2. Fat Man – Derrick Morgan
      3. Tell Me Darling – Jackie Edwards
      4. Running Around – Owen Gray
      5. Miss Jamaica – Jimmy Cliff
      6. Housewife’s Choice – Derrick And Patsy
      7. Give Me All Of Your Love – The Continentals
      8. Darling Patricia – Owen Gray
    • Side B
      1. Rough And Tough – Stranger Cole
      2. Man To Man – Kentrick Patrick
      3. Uno-Dos-Tres – Stranger & Ken
      4. Slow Boat – Al T. Joe
      5. Rude Boy – Duke Reid’s Group
      6. Gone Is Yesterday – Higgs & Wilson
      7. I’m In The Mood For Ska – Lord Tanamo
      8. Virginia Ska – The Baba Brooks Band
      9. Satan – Justin Hinds & The Dominoes

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments