Van Morrison / The Healing Game / triple-disc deluxe edition

3CD set • 24 unreleased performances • Live at Montreux ’97

Sony’s Legacy Recordings will issue a three-disc deluxe edition of Van Morrison‘s 1997 album The Healing Game which features unreleased session tracks, collaborations and live performances.

The first CD features the 10 album tracks with five bonus tracks including single versions and songs from compilations.

Sessions & Collaborations‘ are the focus of the second disc, and amongst the offering are  early versions of ‘The Healing Game’ and ‘Fire in the Belly’ and various previously unreleased recordings including a jazz version of ‘The Healing Game,’ the full length version of ‘Sometimes We Cry’, several previously unissued collaborations with Carl Perkins and a couple of tracks recorded with John Lee Hooker.

The final CD features Van Morrison’s Live at Montreux concert from 17 July 1997. This is available officially for the first time and includes songs from The Healing Game as well as some favourites from his back catalogue and some well chosen covers (such as Ray Charles, Antony Newley and Sly Stone).

As well as the triple-disc deluxe, the album will be reissued on vinyl LP featuring just the 10 album tracks.

The Healing Game is reissued on 22 March 2019. I have no idea why it’s so expensive in the UK, but presumably that price will come down. If not, you always have Italy.

Disc 1 – (The Original Album…Plus)

  1. Rough God Goes Riding
  2. Fire in the Belly
  3. This Weight
  4. Waiting Game
  5. Piper at the Gates of Dawn
  6. Burning Ground
  7. It Once Was My Life
  8. Sometimes We Cry
  9. If You Love Me
  10. The Healing Game

Bonus tracks

  1. Look What the Good People Done
  2. At the End of the Day
  3. The Healing Game (single version)
  4. Full Force Gale ’96 (single version)
  5. St. Dominic’s Preview

Disc 2 – Sessions & Collaborations

  1. The Healing Game (alternate version) (previously unissued)
  2. Fire in the Belly (alternate version) (previously unissued)
  3. Didn’t He Ramble (previously unissued)
  4. The Healing Game (jazz version) (previously unissued)
  5. Sometimes We Cry (full length version) (previously unissued)
  6. Mule Skinner Blues
  7. A Kiss to Build a Dream On (previously unissued)
  8. Don’t Look Back – John Lee Hooker
  9. The Healing Game – John Lee Hooker
  10. Boppin’ the Blues – Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  11. Matchbox – Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  12. Sittin’ on Top of the World – Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (arranged by Van Morrison)
  13. My Angel – Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  14. All By Myself – Carl Perkins & Van Morrison (previously unissued)
  15. Mule Skinner Blues – Lonnie Donegan & Van Morrison

Disc 3 – Live at Montreux 17 July 1997 (all tracks previously unreleased)

  1. Rough God Goes Riding
  2. Foreign Window
  3. Tore Down A La Rimbaud
  4. Vanlose Stairway/Trans-Euro Train
  5. Fool For You
  6. Sometimes We Cry
  7. It Once Was My Life
  8. I’m Not Feeling It Anymore
  9. This Weight
  10. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  11. Fire in the Belly
  12. Tupelo Honey/Why Must I Always Explain
  13. The Healing Game
  14. See Me Through/Soldier of Fortune/Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)/Burning Ground

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments