Wire / multi-disc reissues of Pink Flag, Chairs Missing and 154

Remastered • 2/3CD sets • Bonus material exclusive to physical

Wire‘s first three albums have been ‘painstakingly’ remastered and are to be reissued as multi-disc deluxe sets with a plethora of bonus material.

Pink Flag (1977), Chairs Missing (1978) and 154 (1979) are all presented as 80-page hardcover books – the size of a seven-inch single – and each come with introductions by Jon Savage and insights into each album by Graham Duff. The books include recording details, lyrics and brand new interviews with Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, Robert Grey and Bruce Gilbert.

The debut Pink Flag is expanded to two CDs while Chairs Missing and 154 are both triple-disc collections. The bonus material includes B-sides; demos; and many previously unreleased songs.

It’w worth pointing out that the archive of Annette Green – Wire’s official photographer during this period – is featured throughout the books and the label assures us that most of these photographs have not been seen for 40 years – and many have never been published anywhere before.

Also, top marks to label Pink Flag for refusing to make the bonus tracks available via streaming services. SDE has long argued that archival bonus material should remain exclusive to the physical product and it’s fantastic to see a record label actually do this! (only the remastered album tracks will be available through digital stores and the usual streaming services). Also, considering the deluxe presentation and all the bonus material these sets are very well priced.

The Pink Flag, Chairs Missing and 154 deluxe sets will be released on 18 May 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order


Pink Flag - 2CD deluxe


Compare prices and pre-order


154 - 3CD deluxe


Pink Flag 2CD remastered deluxe edition

Field Day For The Sundays
Three Girl Rhumba
Ex Lion Tamer
Start To Move
It’s So Obvious
Surgeon’s Girl
Pink Flag
The Commercial
Straight Line
106 Beats That
Mr Suit
Different To Me
Feeling Called Love
1 2 X U

Bonus tracks

The Commercial (First Demo Sessions)
Mr Suit (First Demo Sessions)
Pink Flag (First Demo Sessions)
Surgeon’s Girl (Second Demo Sessions)
Field Day For The Sundays (Second Demo Sessions)
106 Beats That (Second Demo Sessions)
Fragile (Second Demo Sessions)
Reuters (Third Demo Sessions)
Different To Me (Third Demo Sessions)
Ex Lion Tamer (Third Demo Sessions)
Mannequin (Third Demo Sessions)
Champs (Third Demo Sessions)
Start To Move (Third Demo Sessions)
Ex Lion Tamer – Alt Mix
12XU – Mono Mix
Mannequin – Mono Mix
It’s So Obvious – Alt Mix

Chairs Missing 3CD remastered deluxe edition

Practice Makes Perfect
French Film Blurred
Another the Letter
Men 2nd
Sand in My Joints
Being Sucked in Again
Outdoor Miner
I Am the Fly
I Feel Mysterious Today
From The Nursery
Used To
Too Late

Bonus tracks

I Am The Fly (Single Version)
Dot Dash
Options R
Outdoor Miner (Single Version)
Practice Makes Perfect (Single Version)
Underwater Experiences (Advision Version)
Practice Makes Perfect (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Oh No Not So (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Culture Vultures (Fourth Demo Sessions)
It’s The Motive (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Love Ain’t Polite (Fourth Demo Sessions)
French Film Blurred (Version 1) (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Sand In My Joints (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Too Late (Fourth Demo Sessions)
I Am The Fly (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Heartbeat (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Underwater Experiences (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Stalemate (Fourth Demo Sessions)
I Feel Mysterious Today (Fourth Demo Sessions)
Dot Dash (Fifth Demo Sessions)
French Film Blurred (Version 2) (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Options R (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Finistaire (Mercy) (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Marooned (Fifth Demo Sessions)
From The Nursery (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Indirect Enquiries (Version 1) (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Outdoor Miner (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Chairs Missing (Used To) (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Being Sucked In Again (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Men 2nd (Fifth Demo Sessions)
Another The Letter (Fifth Demo Sessions)
No Romans (Fifth Demo Sessions)

154 / 3CD remastered deluxe edition

  1. – I Should Have Known Better
  2. – Two People In a Room
  3. – The 15th
  4. – The Other Window
  5. – Single K.O.
  6. – A Touching Display
  7. – On Returning
  8. – A Mutual Friend
  9. – Blessed State
  10. – Once Is Enough
  11. – Map Ref 41 Degrees N 93 Degrees W
  12. – Indirect Enquiries
  13. – 40 Versions
  14. – A Question Of Degree (Single)
  15. – Former Airline (Single)
  16. – Go Ahead (Single)
  17. – Our Swimmer (Single)
  18. – Midnight Bahnhof Cafe (Single)
  19. – Our Swimmer [2nd Length] (Single)
  20. – Catapult 30 (Single)
  21. – Song 1 (154 EP)
  22. – Get Down 1 + 2 (154 EP)
  23. – Let’s Panic Later (154 EP)
  24. – Small Electric Piece (154 EP)
  25. – 40 Versions (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  26. – Ignorance No Plea (I Should Have Known Better) (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  27. – Blessed State (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  28. – A Touching Display (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  29. – The 15th (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  30. – A Mutual Friend (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  31. – Once Is Enough (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  32. – The Other Window (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  33. – Stepping Off Too Quick (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  34. – Indirect Enquiries v2 (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  35. – Map Ref. 41°N 93°W (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  36. – Single K.O. (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  37. – On Returning (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  38. – A Question Of Degree (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  39. – Former Airline (Sixth Demo Sessions)
  40. – Two People In A Room (Sixth Demo Sessions)


SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments