Yachts / Suffice To Say: The Complete Yachts Collection / 3CD box set

Suffice To Say: The Complete Yachts Collection is a new three-CD box set featuring the output of Liverpool new wave/power pop band Yachts, who were signed to Stiff Record in 1977.

The original five-piece line-up featured John (J.J.) Campbell and Henry Priestman, who would later form It’s Immaterial, with Priestman going on to further mainstream success with The Christians.

The band quickly moved to Radar Records but not before they issued Suffice To Say, the single for which they’re best remembered.

Yachts would go on to issue two albums – 1979’s Yachts and 1980’s Without Radar – although there was plenty of personnel changes along the way, and in fact Campbell wasn’t around for either. There was also eight singles, including the novelty single Do The Chud (issued under the moniker The Chuddy Nuddies). The band split in 1982.

Henry Priestman has overseen this new 43-track release, which brings together both albums and various non-LP singles, B-sides and compilation cuts. Most of the tracks are appearing here on CD for the first time. The booklet features numerous clippings and memorabilia from Priestman’s collection and also features notes by broadcaster Mark Kermode and Les Glover.

Suffice To Say: The Complete Yachts Collection will be released on 23 March 2018. For those interested, I initiated and curated a two-CD deluxe reissue of It’s Immaterial’s first album which you can order from the SDE shop.

CD 1: Yachts
1. Box 202
2. In a Second
3. Love You Love You
4. Tantamount To Bribery
5. Easy To Please
6. Mantovani’s Hits
7. Then And Now
8. Semaphore Love
9. I Can’t Stay Long
10. Heads Will Turn
11. I’ll Be Leaving You
12. Yachting Type

CD 2: Without Radar
1. Consequences
2. On The Bridge
3. Trust You
4. Out of Luck
5. This Thing That Thing
6. March Of The Moderates
7. There’s A Ghost In My House
8. Live Saving’s Easy
9. Now I’m Spoken For
10. The Lush
11. Don’t Call Us
12. Simposa

CD 3
1. SUFFICE TO SAY (Single version) – Yachts
2. FREEDOM (IS A HEADY WINE) [Single version] – Yachts
3. Look Back In Love (Not In Anger)
4. I Can’t Stay Long
5. Yachting Types
6. Hypnotising Lies
7. Hazy People (Live)
8. Box 202 (Single Version)
9. Permanent Damage (Live)
10. On And On (Live)
11. Suffice To Say (Live)
12. Secret Agents
13. Revelry
14. I.O.U. (In The Oddments Drawer)
15. 24 Hours From Tulsa
16. I Couldn’t Get Along Without You
17. FOOL LIKE YOU (Single version) – Yachts
18. DUBMARINE (Single version) – Yachts
19. DO THE CHUD (Single version) – The Chuddy Nuddies

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments