George Michael perplexed by radio playlist policy for live tracks


George Michael has confirmed that Let Her Down Easy from his forthcoming Symphonica album was edited to remove the sounds of the audience to satisfy the demands of radio.

Writing on Twitter, the singer remarked “Out of interest, Let Her Down Easy is indeed a live vocal, but radio these days won’t play live or live-sounding tracks…. on their playlists anymore, so we had to go in and get rid of all audience sounds off the track.”

He pithily added “I know I don’t understand it either, all I can thank god for is that it’s a recent development, because I’d have lost on two number ones, with Elton and Queen!”

You can watch the video for Let Her Down Easy here.

Symphonica is released on 17 March 2014.

Deluxe Edition


Pure Audio Blu-ray Audio (no video)

Track listing

  1. Through
  2. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  3. A Different Corner
  4. Praying For Time
  5. Let Her Down Easy
  6. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  7. Feeling Good
  8. John And Elvis Are Dead
  9. Roxanne*
  10. One More Try
  11. Going To A Town*
  12. Cowboys and Angels
  13. Idol
  14. Brother Can You Spare A Dime
  15. You Have Been Loved*
  16. Wild Is The Wind
  17. You’ve Changed

*bonus tracks on deluxe and blu-ray audio

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments