Black Box Recorder / Life is Unfair

Four CDs and a DVD

The Black Box Recorder box set that Luke Haines told SDE about last year is called Life Is Unfair and can now be pre-ordered on Amazon UK for a great price.

Black Box Recorder featured The Auteurs‘ frontman Luke Haines, Sarah Nixey and John Moore, formerly of The Jesus and Mary Chain. Haines and Moore wrote the songs and Nixey sang them. The single The Facts of Life reached number 20 in 2000 and remains the biggest hit of any single that Luke Haines has had a hand in writing.

According to Haines, the set – which appeared briefly on One  Little Indian’s website on Black Friday last year – will contain all three albums (England Made Me (1998), The Facts of Life (2000) and Passionoia (2003), as well as a CD of live recordings, a disc of rarities, and all the videos on DVD (along with some live footage).

In actual fact this doesn’t have a live disc (which I suspect will emerge as part of the vinyl box) so this is definitely a 4CD+DVD box. Amazon do have it listed as six discs but the simple explanation is that it’s incorrect.

Life Is Unfair is listed for release on 8 June 2018.

Track listing as per One Little Indian’s website last year:

England Made Me

1. Girl Singing In The Wreckage
2. England Made Me
3. New Baby Boom
4. It’s Only The End Of The World
5. Ideal Home
6. Child Psychology
7. I. C. One Female
8. Up Town Top Ranking
9. Swinging
10. Kidnapping An Heiress
11. Wonderful Life
12 Hated Sunday

The Facts Of Life

1. The Art Of Driving
2. Weekend
3. The English Motorway System
4. May Queen
5. Sex Life
6. French Rock’n’Roll
7. The Facts Of Life
8. Straight Life
9. Gift Horse
10. The Deverell Twins
11. Goodnight Kiss


1. The School Song
2. GSOH Q.E.D.
3. British Racing Green
4. Being Number One
5. The New Diana
6. These Are The Things
7. Andrew Ridgley
8. When Britain Refused To Sing
9. Girls Guide For The Modern Diva
10. I Ran All The Way Home

Rarities Disc

1. Facts Of Life (single version)
2. Start As You Mean To Go On
3. Soul Boy
4. Facts of Life (Chocolate Layers remix)
5. Uptown Top Ranking
5. Brutality
6. Watch Angels Not The Wire
7. Rock N Roll Suicide (BBC session)
8. Art Of Driving (BBC session)
9. Straight Life (BBC session)
10. Goodnight Kiss (BBC session)
11. Land Of Our Fathers
12. 17 and Deadly
13. Passionoia mega mix
14. Lord Lucan
15. Keep It In The Family (unreleased)
16. Do You Believe in God? (unreleased)


1. Live – filmed at the Train Driver in Eyeliner event at The Forum on 27 October 2008:
Wonderful Life
British Racing Green
England Made Me
Girl Singing In The Wreckage
I.C.One Female
Child Psychology
Lord Lucan Is Missing

2. Child Psychology
3. England Made Me
4. Facts of Life
5. Art Of Driving

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments