Clamshell box set edition of The Waterboys’ 1985 due in April

Cheaper version coming

With the recently released deluxe edition effectively now sold out at the distributors, The Waterboyscelebration of their This Is The Sea album is being made available at a cheaper price and a less luxurious presentation.

You get the same six CDs which feature 95 tracs, 64 of them previously unreleased, but this time they are presented in card wallets which are housed in a clamshell box set. The massive 220 hardcover book is distilled to a 56-page, perfect bound booklet.

The new clamshell version of 1985

The new version is about £35 cheaper, so fans can argue which version presents the best value. The proper deluxe is limited to 3,000 units and you can check it out via the SDEtv unboxing video.

This clamshell box edition of 1985 will be released on 12 April 2024, via Chrysalis.

Compare prices and pre-order

The Waterboys

1985 - 6CD deluxe box with 220-page book



1985 The Waterboys / 6CD deluxe

    • CD 1: Towers Open Fire:
      1. Trumpets (Session)
      2. Be My Enemy (Prototype 3)
      3. The Ways Of Men (Session)
      4. The Waves #1
      5. Old England (Demo)
      6. Towers Open Fire
      7. Down Through The Town
      8. Ribbon Of Steel (Live)
      9. Bury My Heart (Live)
      10. The Three Day Man (Live)
      11. Medicine Bow (Session)
      12. This Is The Sea (Live)
      13. A Door For My Soul Home (Demo)
      14. Son Of Rags
      15. In My Bed
      16. The Pan Within (Inst Demo)
      17. Even The Trees Are Dancing (Full Length)
      18. Theme
      19. Fuzz Guitar Vamp
      20. Death Is Not The End
    • CD 2: The Black Book:
      1. Beverly Penn (Piano Demo)
      2. Don’t Bang The Drum (Piano Demo)
      3. Be My Enemy (Piano Demo)
      4. The Day I Ran Out Of People
      5. Winter Blows
      6. The Mercenary And The Samaritan
      7. Looking For Dickon
      8. Spirit (Piano Demo)
      9. All The Bright Horses
      10. Custer’s Blues (Piano Demo) / The Woman In Me
      11. Paris In The Rain
      12. The Song Of Sitting Bull
      13. Talk About Wings
      14. The Whole of The Moon (Writing of)
      15. The Pan Within (Piano Demo)
      16. No Sun In The Sky
      17. Winter In The Blood
      18. We Belong To The World
      19. The Whole of The Moon (Piano Demo)
    • CD 3: A Sky Full Of Crows:
      1. Medicine Jack
      2. Medicine Jack Boogie-Woogie
      3. The Sound Of Snow
      4. The Pan Within (Inst)
      5. It Should Have Been You, Guitar Play
      6. Old England (Early Take)
      7. Old Macmichael Had A Band / Sweet Thing
      8. Ruby Don’t Take Your Love To Town
      9. Spirit (Full Length)
      10. Then You Hold Me
      11. Trumpets (Instr #1)
      12. Rain Come Down
      13. Son of Dirt
      14. This Is The Sea (Drumatix Version)
    • CD 4: The Ladder
      1. Medicine Bow (Elemental Rough Mix)
      2. Trumpets (Inst #2)
      3. Be My Enemy (Rough Mix)
      4. Sleek White Schooner
      5. Sweetheart Like You
      6. This Is The Sea (Fast with Mike Lead Guitar Demo)
      7. Adrian And The Piano Storm
      8. Beverly Penn (Synth Version)
      9. This Is The Sea (Fast with Tom Verlaine Lead Guitar Version)
      10. The Waves #2
      11. The Ladder (Demo)
      12. Beverly Penn
      13. Don’t Bang The Drum (Livingston Mix)
      14. Ribbon of Steel Slide Guitar
      15. Paisley Park
    • CD 5: Mountaintop:
      1. The Whole of The Moon (Livingston Mix)
      2. High Far Soon
      3. This Is The Sea (Livingston Mix)
      4. Medicine Bow (Full Length)
      5. The Pan Within (Wickham’s First Play)
      6. Miracle / World Party (Demo)
      7. I Am Not Here
      8. Born To Be Together (Session)
      9. Higher In Time (Session)
      10. The Whole of The Moon (Video Version)
      11. Meridian West
      12. Don’t Bang The Drum (Session)
      13. Medicine Bow (Session)
      14. Behold The Sea
      15. Beverly Penn 2023
    • CD 6: This Is The Sea (The Album)
      1. Don’t Bang The Drum
      2. The Whole of The Moon
      3. Spirit
      4. The Pan Within
      5. Medicine Bow
      6. Old England
      7. Be My Enemy
      8. Trumpets
      9. This Is The Sea

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments