Communards / Red 35th anniversary reissue

2CD deluxe and vinyl editions

London Records are to reissue the Communards second and final studio album, 1987’s Red, in October, across 2CD, 2LP and single vinyl formats.

Produced by Stephen Hague and the band, Red’s best known single was the UK number four hit ‘Never Can Say Goodbye’, although follow up 45s ‘For A Friend’ and ‘There’s More To Love’ both reached the top 30 in Britain.

The 35th anniversary 2CD reissue of Red (click image to enlarge)

For what is a 35th anniversary reissue there is a 2CD deluxe edition which features a new 10-minute remix of ‘Never Can Say Goodbye’ (‘The 2 Bears Remix’) plus a selection of rarities, remixes and previously unreleased tracks from the original era.

A special limited edition 2LP coloured vinyl edition offers a selection of extra tracks and remixes on the bonus LP and a single black vinyl edition is also available.

The limited edition expaned 2LP coloured vinyl edition of Red (click image to enlarge)

If you order a bundle via the official shop then it comes with an exclusive ‘Never Can Say Goodbye’ CD single which features four tracks (including the new remix). Two of the tracks on this CD single are not on the 2CD set (all the track listings are below)

The Red 35th anniversary reissues are out on 28 October 2022 (was 7 October), via London Records

Official Shop Highlights


Red Communards / 35th anniversary edition

    • CD 1
      1. Tomorrow 4:52
      2. T.M.T. ❤ T.B.M.G. 4:28
      3. Matter Of Opinion 4:27
      4. Victims 4:32
      5. For A Friend 5:03
      6. Never Can Say Goodbye 4:53
      7. Lovers and Friends 4:16
      8. Hold On Tight 4:49
      9. If I Could Tell You 4:17
      10. C Minor 5:11
      11. I Just Want To Let You Know 3:25
      12. Scat 3:29
      13. ‘77 The Great Escape 2:17
      14. I Do It All For You 5:07
      15. Romanze For Violin, Piano and Hedgehog 4:26
      16. Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart 2:45
      17. When The Boy In Your Heart Is The Boy In Your Arms 2:24
      18. Never Can Say Goodbye (Spanish Vocal) 4:50
      19. Piece of Saxophone 3:29
    • CD 2
      1. Never Can Say Goodbye (The 2 Bears Remix) 9:59
      2. There’s More to Love (Jalapeño Mix) 7:47
      3. Tomorrow (Overnight Mix) 5:27
      4. For A Friend (Remix) 5:02
      5. Never Can Say Goodbye (Shep Pettibone Extended Mix) 11:14
      6. C Minor (Live) 3:36
      7. Victims (Storm Paris) 5:16
      8. Hold On Tight (Storm Paris) 3:48
      9. There’s More To Love (Percapella) 5:07
      10. Tomorrow (demo) 4:54
      11. Never Can Say Goodbye (rough mix) 4:54
      12. For A Friend (Rough Mix) 4:34
      13. Hold on Tight (demo) 4:40

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments