Eluvium / Life Through Bombardment Vol 2 / signed vinyl box set


Lose yourself in the beautiful soundscapes of Eluvium (aka American ambient recording artist Matthew Cooper) with the studiously packaged second instalment of Life Through Bombardment, featuring almost all Eluvium recordings since volume one.

The first Life Through Bombardment came out in 2009, bringing together just about every Eluvium recording released up to that point in a stylish limited edition set. Volume Two coming soon via the Temporary Residence label continues the story with another super deluxe edition strictly limited to just 1,000 copies. The seven black vinyl records are packaged like pages in a large (14” x 12” x 1”) linen-bound hardcover book with gold embossed print along the spine and an affixed art print by longtime Eluvium collaborator Jeannie Lynn Paske. It’s the first time these recordings have been released on vinyl, and within the book each LP has it’s own sleeve with new original artwork by Paske and a die-cut hole at the back to view the record’s centre-label.

You’ll find a pocket mounted to the book’s inside front cover containing a library card that is numbered and personally signed and dated by Matthew Cooper, Jeannie Lynn Paske (artist), and Jeremy deVine (Temporary Residence). The back of the card also has a code for a digital download of all material on the records and more (see below). And like any self-respecting, well-thumbed old library book, there is a loose page that will fall out in the form of a fold-out poster.

So much for the geek chic presentation, the music on the vinyl runs the gamut from the 2010 album Similes (with an extra disc of B-sides and remixes) through to Static Nocturne (2010 – divided into two parts for the vinyl format) and Nightmare Ending (2013), plus the rare album Wisdom for Debris (2014) which was originally released in conjunction with artist Paske’s book of the same name).

Some rare tracks, including the fabulously entitled Adolescent Space Adventures Outside The Supermarket, Airtapebreathingheart, Neighboring In Telescopes and the previously unreleased Confessor, are presented on final disc Curious Things.

The only Eluvium recordings from post-Vol. 1 time period that are omitted from this set are previous vinyl-only releases Catalin (2014) and Pedals / Petals (2014), But don’t despair – apparently, these are included in the accompanying MP3 download, which also presents Static Nocturne in one continuous track as per the original CD.

Life Through Bombardment Vol. 2 is released on 3 June.


Disc: 1
1. Leaves Eclipse The Night
2. The Motion Makes Me Last
3. In Culmination
4. Weird Creatures
5. Nightmare
6. Making Up Minds
7. Bending Dream
8. Cease To Know

Disc: 2
1. A Life In Tides Less Current
2. Crash Deconstructed
3. Remnant Signals
4. The Motion Makes Me Last (Four Tet Remix)
5. Leaves Eclipse The Night (Nick Zammuto Remix)

Disc: 3
1. Static Nocturne Pt. 1
2. Static Nocturne Pt. 2

Disc: 4
1. Don’t Get Any Closer
2. Warm
3. By The Rails
4. Unknown Variation
5. Caroling
6. Sleeper
7. Evenom Mettle

Disc: 5
1. Chime
2. Rain Gently
3. Impromptu (For The Procession)
4. Covered In Writing
5. Entendre
6. Strange Arrivals
7. Happiness

Disc: 6
1. Wisdom II
2. Wind Book
3. Return To Debris
4. Night Projections

Disc: 7
1. Ogives / Redistributed
2. Confessor
3. Adolescent Space Adventures Outside The Supermarket
4. Space Variations
5. Defibrillator
6. Airtapebreathingheart
7. Cognition Interlace
8. Neighboring In Telescopes

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments