Elvis Costello / The Boy Named If

New studio album

Elvis Costello and The Imposters will release a new studio album, The Boy Named If, early next year.

The record is described as having “urgent, immediate songs with bright melodies, guitar solos that sting and a quick step to the rhythm”. Costello himself says that the album is a collection of thirteen snapshots “That take us from the last days of a bewildered boyhood to that mortifying moment when you are told to stop acting like a child – which for most men (and perhaps a few gals too) can be any time in the next fifty years”. You can preview ‘Magnificent Hurt’, below.

Costello goes on to explain the album’s title. “The full title of this record is ‘The Boy Named If (And Other Children’s Stories).’  ‘IF,’ is a nickname for your imaginary friend; your secret self, the one who knows everything you deny, the one you blame for the shattered crockery and the hearts you break, even your own”.

The record has been produced by Sebastian Krys & Elvis Costello and is available on CD, 2LP black vinyl and limited 2LP purple vinyl. The official store (UK link) offers the CD in a book, signed by “the artist” (?) for £44, which feels rather overpriced. Is it too much trouble to tell us the NAME of the artist!! There are other bundles too.

The Boy Named If will be released on 14 January 2022.


The Boy Named If Elvis Costello /

      1. Farewell
      2. The Boy if Named
      3. Penelope Halfpenny
      4. The Difference
      5. What If I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
      6. Paint the Red Rose Blue
      7. Mistook Me For a Fool
      8. My Most Beautiful Mistake
      9. Magnificent Hurt
      10. The Man You Love To Hate
      11. Death of Magic Thinking
      12. Trick Out The Truth
      13. Mr Crescent

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments