Glenn Frey / Above The Clouds: The Collection / new four-disc package

Deluxe set includes hits, early rarities and ‘deep cuts’

Universal Music will issue Above The Clouds: The Collection, a new four-disc deluxe box set that focuses on the solo career of Glenn Frey.

The 3CD+DVD set starts with a 15-track ‘best of’ disc which includes singles like The Heat Is On (from Beverly Hills Cop), Smuggler’s Blues and You Belong To The City.

The second CD digs deeper into Frey’s back catalogue and includes tracks from his last studio album, 2012’s After Hours, 1985’s Allnighter, new tracks from 1995’s Solo Collection and more.

The one and only album (self-titled) by Frey’s and JD Souther’s Longbranch / Pennywhistle is officially released on CD for the first time on disc three. This was recorded in 1969 in California (after the pair had moved from Detroit to California) and issued on the Amos label. While the country rock/folk outfit were short-lived, Souther would go on to co-write loads of great Eagles songs, such as Best of My Love, New Kid in Town and Heartache Tonight.

The fourth and final disc is a DVD of a live show from Dublin in 1992 from the Strange Weather tour.

Above The Clouds: The Collection will be released on 11 May 2018. A single disc ‘best of’ (disc one of the bigger set) will also be available separately.

Disc: 1
1. The Heat Is On

2. Call On Me

3. Part Of Me, Part Of You

4. You Belong To The City

5. Smuggler’s Blues

6. Sexy Girl

7. The Allnighter

8. Soul Searchin’

9. Same Girl

10. The One You Love

11. Strange Weather

12. I’ve Got Mine

13. River Of Dreams

14. Love In The 21st Century

15. Lyin’ Eyes / Take It Easy (Medley – Live at the National Stadium, Dublin, Ireland / 1992)

Disc: 2
1. Let’s Go Home

2. I Got Love

3. This Way To Happiness

4. Common Ground

5. After Hours

6. Rising Sun (Instrumental)

7. The Shadow Of Your Smile

8. Better In The U.S.A.

9. Brave New World

10. Caroline, No

11. For Sentimental Reasons

12. It’s Too Soon To Know

13. Worried Mind

14. Lover’s Moon

15. Route 66

16. True Love

Disc: 3
1. Jubilee Anne

2. Run Boy, Run

3. Rebecca

4. Lucky Love

5. Kite Woman

6. Bring Back Funky Women

7. Star – Spangled Bus

8. Mister, Mister

9. Don’t Talk Now

10. Never Have Enough

Disc: 4
1. Long Hot Summer

2. Peaceful Easy Feeling

3. New Kid In Town

4. The One You Love

5. Strange Weather

6. I’ve Got Mine

7. Lyin’ Eyes / Take It Easy (Medley)

8. Wild Mountain Thyme

9. River Of Dreams

10. True Love

11. Love In The 21st Century

12. Livin’ Right

13. Smuggler’s Blues

14. The Heat Is On

15. Heartache Tonight

16. Party Town

17. Desperado

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments