Gomez / Bring It On 20th anniversary edition super deluxe edition

Gomez‘s debut Bring It On will be reissued for its 20th anniversary and amongst the formats will be a super deluxe edition box set featuring a host of unreleased songs and demos.

The indie band from Southport were signed to Hut Records (home to The Auteurs amongst others) who issued Bring It On in 1998, when the ashes of Britpop were still smouldering. The album was critically acclaimed and sold well, despite having not any big hit singles to its name (Whippin’ Piccadilly was the highest charting single in the UK, reaching number 35). The band’s credibility was confirmed when the album won the 1998 Mercury Music Prize beating The Verve‘s Urban Hymns, amongst others.

The new box set has four CDs. The album and all the B-sides have been remastered (by Frank Arkwright) and the package includes 35 previously unreleased tracks made up of 13 songs never released in any form by Gomez (including covers of Neil Young’s Unknown Legend and T-Bone Walker’s Mean Old World).

The 20th anniversary super deluxe edition of Bring It On

The last CD in the set features the band’s 1998 Glastonbury performance and BBC sessions (the latter was included on the bonus disc of the 10th anniversary two-CD set).

A double vinyl version of the remastered album will also be issued, although it’s ‘album-only’ and doesn’t come with any bonus tracks.

The package is presented in the same style as the Tears For Fears and Simple Minds super deluxe editions and includes a 10,000-word essay by music writer Paul Stokes, with new interviews with the band and those close to them.

Bring It On will be reissued on 20 April 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order


Bring It On - 2LP vinyl

Shop Price gbp Stock
JPC de   41.99

1 Get Miles
2 Whippin’ Piccadilly
3 Make No Sound
4 78 Stone Wobble
5 Tijuana Lady
6 Here Comes the Breeze
7 Love Is Better Than a Warm Trombone
8 Get Myself Arrested
9 Free to Run
10 Bubble Gum Years
11 Rie’s Wagon
12 The Comeback

CD2: B-sides REMASTERED + 1997 Southport demos
1 Who’s Gonna Go the Bar
2 Steve McCroski
3 Wham Bam
4 Flavors
5 Old School Shirt
6 The Cowboy Song
7 Pussyfootin’
8 Pick Up The Pieces
9 Whippin’ Piccadilly (Turbo Version)
10 Flats 1 & 2
11 Collapse
12 Hit On The Head
13 Slot Machine
14 Sweetest Song
15 Buena Vista
16 78 Stone Wobble
17 Sun Rim Dips
18 Walking Wounded
19 Bluest Heaven
20 Getting Rained On

CD3: Demo tape to record labels + Sheffield demos + other demos
1 78 Stone Wobble
2 Whippin’ Piccadilly
3 Get Miles
4 Tijuana Lady
5 Rie’s Wagon
6 Here Come The Breeze
7 Steve McCroski
8 Bring It On
9 Emma Freud
10 Touchin’ Up
11 Free To Run
12 Unknown Legend
13 Get Miles
14 Mean Old World

CD4: BBC radio sessions + Live at Glastonbury 1998
1 Brother Lead
2 78 Stone Shuffle
3 The Way You Do The Things You Do
4 Here Comes The Breeze
5 Stag O’Lee
6 Whippin’ Piccadilly
7 Get Miles
8 Get Myself Arrested
9 Love Is Better Than A Warm Trombone
10 R & B
11 Here Comes The Breeze
12 Tijuana Lady
13 Buena Vista
14 Make No Sound
15 78 Stone Wobble
16 Soul Kitchen
17 Whippin’ Piccadilly

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments