Haircut One Hundred / Pelican West super deluxe editions

4CD and 4LP box sets

Ratings Ratings

Pelican West 40 / Haircut One Hundred 4CD super deluxe

SDE Reader Rating


Haircut One Hundred’s 1982 album Pelican West will be reissued in February next year as multi-disc vinyl and CD box sets.

The album featured three top ten UK singles in ‘Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)’, ‘Love Plus One’ and ‘Fantastic Day’ and reached #2 in the UK album charts and an #31 in America. Pelican West would be the band’s only album with frontman Nick Heyward. He left in early 1983 and the band released one further LP without him (1984’s Paint and Paint), without success.

The 4CD super deluxe includes a signed print from the official shop (click image to enlarge)

The album has been remastered and expanded for a 40th anniversary reissue and 4CD and 4LP vinyl box sets will be available, initially with prints signed by all members of the band (750 copies worldwide).

The large format 4CD set offers the remastered album, a disc of 12-inch mixes and B-sides, the demos for their unfinished second album with Heyward (which was given the provisional title Blue Hat For A Blue Day) and a live set from Hammersmith Odeon from the spring of 1982. 24 of these 54 tracks are previously unreleased, including early versions of later Nick Heyward solo hits ‘Whistle Down The Wind’, ‘Blue Hat For A Blue Day’ and ‘Sunny Boy, Sunny Girl’.

The 4LP vinyl box offers the same content across four records minus the Hammersmith Odeon show. This 38-track offering features the album half-speed mastered (this is also available separately). This is newly mastered by Phil Kinrade and cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering. Like the 4CD box set the 4LP vinyl package is also available with a signed print (750 copies worldwide).

The 4LP set also includes a signed print via the official shop, while stocks last (click image to enlarge)

The 4CD set features a 44-page booklet with a new 10,000-word sleeve note featuring an oral history of the
time with all six members interviewed by the set’s curator, Daryl Easlea. The booklet also
includes memorabilia and exclusive photographs from the personal collection of Haircut guitarist Graham
Jones and bassist Les Nemes. The vinyl set also offers the notes.

Pelican West will be reissued on 24 February 2023 via Demon Music. The signed editions are currently only available via the official Haircut One Hundred shop.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary, Nick Heyward, Les Nemes, Graham Jones & Blair Cunningham will be performing a very special one-off show at London’s O2 Shepherds Bush Empire on 12 May 2023. Ticket info, here.

Pelican West 40 at the official Haircut 100 shop:


Pelican West Haircut One Hundred / super deluxe edition

    • CD 1: Pelican West – Original Album
      1. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)
      2. Love Plus One
      3. Lemon Firebrigade
      4. Marina Boy
      5. Milk Film
      6. Kingsize (You’re My Little Steam Whistle)
      7. Fantastic Day
      8. Baked Beans
      9. Snow Girl
      10. Love’s Got Me In Triangles
      11. Surprise Me Again
      12. Calling Captain Autumn
      13. Nobody’s Fool
      14. October Is Orange (Day 1&2)
    • CD 2: Pelican West / Pelican Plus
      1. Boat Party (7″ Version)
      2. Ski Club
      3. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl) – 12″ version
      4. Love Plus One – 12″ Version
      5. Fantastic Day – 12″ Version
      6. Calling Captain Autumn – Special Extended Version
      7. Boat Party – 12″ Version
      8. Marina Boy – 12″ Version
      9. Sky Club Of Great Britain
      10. Love’s Got Me In Triangles – Extended Version
      11. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl) – Extended Remix
      12. Fantastic Day (live)
      13. Calling Captain Autumn – Extended Version
      14. Nobody’s Fool – 12″ Version
      15. October Is Orange (Day 1&2) – 12″ Version
    • CD 3: Junction Box – The Unfinished Tracks
      1. I Believe In Sundays
      2. Maytime Moments (instrumental)
      3. Cheek to Cheek (instrumental)
      4. Hayley’s Heart (guide vocal)
      5. A Blue Hat For A Blue Day (instrumental)
      6. Coming Home (instrumental)
      7. Brookfield Girl
      8. Sunny Boy, Sunny Girl
      9. Club Boy at Sea
      10. Steam Bus Junction (instrumental)
      11. Whistle Down The Wind
    • CD 4: Haircut 100% Live! Hammersmith Odeon Spring 1982
      1. Low Rider
      2. Baked Beans
      3. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)
      4. Calling Captain Autumn
      5. Milk Film
      6. Snow Girl
      7. Lemon Fire Brigade
      8. Fantastic Day
      9. Love’s Got Me In Triangles
      10. Love Plus One
      11. Kingsize (You’re My Little Steam Whistle)
      12. Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl) – Long
      13. Calling Captain Autumn
      14. Love Plus One (encore)
      15. Fantastic Day (encore)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments