Hazel O’Connor / Sons and Lovers

Single disc reissue of the 1980 album, with five bonus tracks

Cherry Red’s SFE imprint will reissue an expanded version of Hazel O’Connor‘s second album at the end of this month.

Sons and Lovers was originally release in 1980 as the follow-up to her first album, the soundtrack to Breaking Glass (a film in which she also starred, of course).

The album was produced by Nigel Gray and features the UK top ten hit D-Days (which stands for Decadent Days). This expanded single disc reissue actually features three versions of that song: the album version, the better known Tony Visconti remixed version and the alternate ‘New’ version dating from 1981. ‘


Amongst the bonus audio are two live tracks (from the 1980 live concert at the Dominion Theatre) which include a cover version of David Bowie’’s ‘Suffragette City’ which features Simon Le Bon (Duran Duran were supporting O’Connor at that time).

This reissue is presented as a digi-pak and comes with a “richly illustrated” lyric booklet with an introduction from Hazel O’Connor herself. It will be released on 30 March 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order

Hazel O'Connor

Sons and Lovers expanded CD


Original Album:
1. D-Days
2. Waiting
3. Who Will Care?
4. Zoo
5. Gigolo
6. Do What You Do
7. Sons And Lovers
8. Glass Houses
9. Ain’t It Funny
10. Danny Boy
11. Bye Bye
12. Time (Ain’t On Our Side)
Bonus Tracks:
13. Ain’t It Funny (Live)
14. Suffragette City (Live)
15. D-Days (7” Visconti Version)
16. Time Is Free (Original ‘79 Version)
17. D-Days (Alternate ’81 ‘New’ Version)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments