Neil Young / Tuscaloosa

Latest ‘archive performance series’ release coming in June.

Neil Young has announced the release of a new archival live album, Tuscaloosa.

Recorded on February 5, 1973 at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa comes from Young’s tour with his backing band the Stray Gators (Neil Young: vocals, guitar, piano, harmonica Ben Keith: pedal steel guitar, vocals Jack Nitzsche: piano, vocals Tim Drummond: bass Kenny Buttrey: drums), which was documented on his Time Fades Away LP.

Discussing the release with Rolling Stone earlier this year, Young said “It’s really trippy to be down in Tuscaloosa [Alabama], and singing those songs from Harvest and the songs that we were doing for Time Fades Away before it came out. I found this thing and it had such a great attitude to it. I just loved the whole night, so I put that together with John Hanlon.”

Tuscaloosa is available on both vinyl and CD and is released on 7 June 2019. The vinyl is a 2LP set with the fourth side an etched disc.

1. Here We Are in The Years (3:56)
2. After the Gold Rush (4:42)
3. Out on The Weekend (5:29)
4. Harvest (4:14)
5. Old Man (4:17)
6. Heart of Gold (3:48)
7. Time Fades Away (6:10)
8. Lookout Joe (4:59)
9. New Mama (3:01)
10. Alabama (3:50)
11. Don’t Be Denied (8:09)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments