Neil Young with Crazy Horse / Toast

Unreleased album from 2001

Neil Young‘s unreleased 2001 album Toast will be officially released in July.

Recorded at Toast Studios in San Francisco (hence the name) around the turn of the millennium, Toast features the brilliant Crazy Horse. Neil has mentioned this album occasionally over the years in and 2021 offered some detail about the it: “The music of Toast is about a relationship,” he said. “There is a time in many relationships that go bad, a time long before the breakup, where it dawns on one of the people, maybe both, that it’s over. This was that time.”

You can preview ‘Standing in the Light of Love’, above. Other songs on the 7-track album include ‘Timberline’, the story of an out-of-work logger who grapples with his faith, and the 10-minute ‘Gateway of Love’. Those three are previously unreleased, while four songs from Toast were reworked and appeared on what was Young’s next album, 2003’s Are You Passionate.

Toast is available on 2LP vinyl (side 4 is etched) and CD. It’s released on 8 July 2022.


Toast Neil Young with Crazy Horse /

      1. Quit
      2. Standing In the Light of Love
      3. Goin’ Home
      4. Timberline
      5. Gateway of Love
      6. How Ya Doin’?
      7. Boom Boom Boom

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments