OMD / Bauhaus Staircase

New studio album

Eighties synth-pop legends OMD return with a new album called Bauhaus Staircase.

The 12-track long-player is their first since 2017’s The Punishment of Luxury and is said to be “the band’s most explicitly political record” and the crowning achievement of their “desire to be both Stockhausen and ABBA – born from the impetus to kickstart new explorations during lockdown when, as Andy McCluskey admits: “I rediscovered the creative power of total boredom”.

You can preview the title track, above. Andy says “The song is a metaphor for strength and artist passion in the face of criticism and adversity. When times are hard, there is a tendency for Governments to look at cutting funding for creativity, just at the moment when the arts are most needed to nourish our souls. It seems appropriate that the song and its eponymous album were created during Covid Lockdown.

The album is being issued on CD and as a special 2CD deluxe which offers every track as a demo (including a bonus second demo of the title track). Various coloured vinyl versions are also available.

Bauhaus Staircase will be released on 27 October 2023 via 100%

Compare prices and pre-order


Bauhaus Staircase - clear vinyl LP

You might also like…

Compare prices and pre-order

OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark)

Architecture and Morality - The Singles 3 x 12-inch singles



Bauhaus Staircase OMD /

    • CD
      1. Bauhaus Staircase
      2. Anthropocene
      3. Look at You Now
      4. G.E.M.
      5. Where We Started
      6. Veruschka
      7. Slow Train
      8. Don’t Go
      9. Kleptocracy
      10. Aphrodite’s Favourite Child
      11. Evolution of Species
      12. Healing
    • Bonus CD on deluxe
      1. Baushaus Staircase (2.7 Demo – Andy 30th Aug 2020)
      2. Anthropocene Demo (A Haven for Lost Souls 1.1 – Paul’s Track April 2020)
      3. Look at You Now Demo (Zimmer Frame for Andy) [Paul 28th Feb 2021]
      4. G.E.M. Demo (Culture War – Andy 6th March 2021)
      5. Where We Started Demo (Stadium 6.0) [Andy 26th May 2020]
      6. Veruschka 2 Demo (2nd December 2020)
      7. Slow Train Demo 1.3 (Dec 2020)
      8. Don’t Go Demo (14th Nov 2018)
      9. Kleptocracy Demo (When I Was Young) [Andy 14th March 2021]
      10. Aphrodite’s Favourite Child Demo (B Side Choir) [Fotonovela 2011]
      11. Evolution of Species (2.5 Ruff)
      12. Healing Demo (Water April 9th 2020)
      13. Bauhaus Staircase Demo (Andy 20th July 2020)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments