Pete Wylie & The Mighty Wah! / Teach Yself Wah!

New best of collection from Liverpool legend

Liverpool singer-songwriter Pete Wylie will release a new compilation album called Teach Yself Wah! – A Best Of on 2LP and single CD in March this year.

Wylie, who started his career in the late ‘70s, has chosen the tracks on the collection, which features a portrait of him painted by Pete Townshend on the sleeve.

In the early days, Wylie was in bands with Julian Cope, Ian McCulloch, Pete Burns, Ian Broudie, Paul Rutherford and Budgie. He adopted the name Wah! in 1979, recording under several different monikers, including Wah!, The Mighty Wah!, Wah! Heat and Shambeko! Say Wah!

Wah!’s biggest hit was ‘The Story of the Blues’, which reached number three in the UK singles chart in 1982. Wylie, who also had a UK hit under his own name in 1986, when the single ‘Sinful’ got to number 13, has performed with The Farm and Apollo 440, and appeared with The KLF on the first version of their track, ‘It’s Grim Up North,’ which was released in 1990.

Of the two formats, the gatefold 2LP set includes 20 tracks, while the digipak CD has 17 songs – the CD omits ‘Sleep ‘(A Lullaby For Josie)’, ‘Is That What Love Is All About?’ and ‘The Seven Thousand Names of WAH!’

The compilation features sleeve notes by Wylie, who has chosen some early singles and hits, as well as a few rare or lesser-known songs, including the original version of ‘Imperfect List’, a collaboration with Big Hard Excellent Fish – until now, it has only been available on the original 12-inch release from 1990.

Wylie has also re-recorded two of his early songs for this new compilation – 1980’s ‘Seven Minutes To Midnight’, which was the second and final single released by Wah! Heat, and ‘Better Scream’, the band’s debut single from 1979.

Teach Yself Wah! – A Best Of will be released on 1 March 2024 via Chrysalis Records. He’s off on tour in the UK from February onwards in support of this new release.


Teach Yself Wah! – A Best Of Pete Wylie & The Mighty Wah! /

    • CD
      1.  Remember
      2.  The Story Of the Blues (Part One)
      3. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
      4. Hope (I Wish You’d Believe Me)
      5. Talking Blues (The Story Of The Blues: Part Two)
      6. Come Back
      7. Diamond Girl
      8. Fourelevenfortyfour
      9. Sinful (Song of The Sinful Angel)
      10. The Day That Margaret Thatcher Dies – A Party Song
      11. Loverboy
      12. Free; Falling (In Love With You)
      13. Heart As Big As Liverpool
      14. Better Scream 2024
      15. Seven Minutes To Midnight 2024
      16. Somesay
      17. Big Hard Excellent Fish – Imperfect List (Original Version)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments