Peter Gabriel’s ‘Music For Films’ issued on half-speed mastered 45RPM vinyl

Peter Gabriel‘s three soundtrack albums Birdy, Passion and Long Walk Home will be issued on audiophile quality 45RPM vinyl pressings in July.

As with the previous studio albums, all three albums have been Half-Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45RPM.

Birdy was the soundtrack to the Alan Parker film and was issued in 1985. It was the first time Gabriel had worked with Daniel Lanois, who went on to co-produce both So and Us.

Passion (1989) was recorded as the soundtrack to Martin Scorsese’s The Last Temptation of Christ although Peter continued to work on the music after the film’s release, so this sits somewhere between soundtrack and studio album.

Long Walk Home (2002) is an album based on the music from the Phillip Noyce’s film Rabbit-Proof Fence. This is the first time it has been made available on vinyl.

Passion is a triple album (music on five sides and an etching on the sixth) while the other two are doubles. music on five sides and a special etching on the sixth side. All albums come with a download card with a choice of digital download (hi-res 24bit or 16bit).

Birdy, Passion and Long Walk Home are issued on 45RPM vinyl on 28 July 2017.

Compare prices and pre-order


passion 3LP 45RPM vinyl


Passion / 45 RPM 3LP half-speed mastered vinyl

Disc: 1
1. The Feeling Begins
2. Gethsemane
3. Of These, Hope
4. Lazarus Raised

Disc: 2
1. In Doubt
2. A Different Drum
3. Zaar
4. Troubled

Disc: 3
1. Open
2. Before Night Falls
3. With This Love
4. Sandstorm
5. Stigmata

Disc: 4
1. Passion
2. With This Love – Choir
3. Wall of Breath

Disc: 5
1. The Promise of Shadows
2. Disturbed
3. It is Accomplished
4. Bread and Wine

Birdy / 45 RPM 2LP half-speed mastered vinyl

Side: 1
1. At Night
2. Floating Dogs
3. Quiet and Alone

Side: 2
1. Close Up (from Family Snapshot)
2. Slow Water
3. Dressing the Wound

Side: 3
1. Birdy’s Flight (from Not One of Us)
2. Slow Marimbas
3. The Heat (from the Rhythm of the Heat)

Side: 4
1. Sketchpad with Trumpet and Voice
2. Under Lock and Key (from Wallflower)
3. Powerhouse at the Foot of theMountain (from San Jacinto)

Long Walk Home / 45RPM 2LP half-speed mastered vinyl

Side 1
1. Jigalong
2. Stealing the Children
3. Unlocking the Door
4. The Tracker
5. Running to the Rain

Side 2
1. On the Map
2. A Sense of Home
3. A Sense of Home
4. Moodoo’s Secret
5. Gracie’s Recapture

Side 3
1. Crossing the Salt Pan
2. The Return (Parts 1, 2 and 3)

Side 4
1. Ngankarrparni (Sky Blue – Reprise)
2. The Rabbit-Proof Fence
3. Cloudless

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments